Search Results for 'Manchester'

141 results found.

Taylor’s Hill school, one hundred and sixty years

image preview

One hundred and sixty years ago on Saturday, September 8, 1858, the Dominican sisters opened their school on Taylor’s Hill. Three years before that, they had taken over a house there known as Seaview (sometimes known as Mount Eaton), which belonged to the Sloper family; a simple country house with eight rooms, a medley of kitchen premises to the rear, stables behind the house, and with it, five acres of land.

Taylor’s Hill school, one hundred and sixty years

image preview

One hundred and sixty years ago on Saturday, September 8, 1858, the Dominican sisters opened their school on Taylor’s Hill. Three years before that, they had taken over a house there known as Seaview (sometimes known as Mount Eaton), which belonged to the Sloper family; a simple country house with eight rooms, a medley of kitchen premises to the rear, stables behind the house, and with it, five acres of land.

Fantasy Football round four preview

image preview

The commencement of round four sees the first league matches of September and the Premier League table starting to take shape.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

The Abbey Church

image preview

In the year 1296, Uilliam Liath De Burgo started to build a monastery for the Franciscans on a site roughly where the Courthouse is today. It became known as “St Francis’ Abbey on the island of Saint Stephen on the north side of the town”. The island was formed by the river on the west side, and by a branch of the river running through what is Woodquay and Mary Street today, to join the main stream above O’Brien’s Bridge. A second and smaller island lay between St Stephen’s and the town wall, so in order to communicate with the town, two bridges were necessary, one at the junction of Mary Street and Abbeygate Street and the other at the Little Gate.

Persse’s Distillery

image preview

For much of the 19th century, the Persse family ran one of the most successful distilleries in Ireland. Their product became world famous. They were major contributors to the industrial life of Galway and provided much needed employment. In addition to their staff, they were also supplied by a number of artisans working in the Nuns Island area — coopers, cork manufacturers, printers, carters, case makers, etc.

Punk and ska from the north of England

image preview

DIY DUB-punk and ska from the north of England, and a one man acoustic comedic whirlwind, will be in the upstairs bar of the Róisín Dubh, next week.

The Mouse Outfit - new album, Monroe's gig

image preview

TOMORROW SEES the launch of Jagged Tooth Crook, the new album by Manchester hip hop production team The Mouse Outfit, and later this month they play Monroe's Live.

Chris Wise And The Hidden Revolution @ Monroe's Live

image preview

THEY HAVE been called "Manchester's finest emerging talents" by TJEvents, and sound "as if they have something mighty brewing. Who knows how big it could be if they manage to let it out", according to Chris Long at BBC Manchester.

Positive 2018 continues for Shannon Airport as Ryanair adds new routes

A strong start to 2018 is set to get better for Shannon Airport following the announcement this week that Ryanair is to add two new routes and increase frequency on an existing UK service.

 

Page generated in 0.0581 seconds.