Search Results for 'Conor Mortimer'

21 results found.

Four debutantes for Saturday showdown

Mayo will give a championship bow to four new players on Saturday evening against Sligo. Coming into the side for their first starts in championship action are Belmullet's Chris Barrett, Breaffy's Seamus O'Shea, Aghamore's Alan Freeman, and Garrymore's Enda Varley in a new look Mayo side. There are five changes from the team that lost to Cork in the National League final, with a fit again duo of Keith Higgins coming into corner back for Liam O'Malley and Ronan McGarrity replacing the injured Alan Dillion. Tom Cunniffe will replace Trevor Howley at the lynchpin centre half back position, with O'Shea moving to centre half forward.

Padden back in Mayo panel

John O'Mahony named his squad for the championship on Monday, there were no major surprises in the 30 men named, with Belmullet's Billy Joe Padden the only man who wasn't involved in action so far this year coming back into contention. O'Mahony now has 33 days to get his team ready for Sligo in the Connacht championship opener.

Ronaldson named in starting line up despite suspension

image preview

Mark Ronaldson was named in John O’Mahony’s starting 15 to face Dublin this Sunday in McHale Park, despite the Shurle Glencorrib player having his appeal over a four week ban turned down by a hearing committee on Wednesday night. No official word has yet been confirmed if Ronaldson is to appeal the decision of the committee which will see him miss Sunday’s game and the game the following Saturday night against Derry, with the suspension due to expire at midnight after the trip to Celtic Park on March 13.

Mayo see off Westmeath with ease

image preview

Mayo 1-13

Mayo get out of Tuam with the points

image preview

Mayo 1-11

Mortimer out of team for Tyrone

John O'Mahony reveled his starting 15 for Mayo's crunch tie with Tyrone in McHale Park on Sunday. For the second game in a row Shrule-Glencorrib sharpshooter Conor Mortimer has been left out of the side, following on from his omission from side who started against Galway in the last round of the competition. Aidan O'Shea will continue in his role at full forward, the Breaffy teenager and Knockmore's Kevin McLoughlin are the only u21 players in the starting 15. The starting 15 also see's Billy Joe Padden come into the side at top of the left in the place of Mikey Sweeney, while McLoughlin will replace Kieran Conroy at left corner back.

The chosen ones

image preview

We are officially up and running now, with the championship opening in 16 days on another continent all that we were waiting for was the 30 names who would make up the championship panel for 2009. When the list was announced on Sunday evening there were no major surprises as John O’Mahony and his backroom team set out their stall for the summer. As was widely expected James Nallen, Keith Higgins, David Heany, and Trevor Howley were all included in the panel despite none of them taking part in the league campaign. In total 22 of those picked for last year’s squad at the same stage of the year were selected again this year, with the likes of Colm Boyle, James Gill, and Michael Mullins all not making the cut this time around. While the veterans Nallen and Heany were included Aidan Higgins, whom many thought might have got the nod, was not selected despite lining out in a recent challenge match against Offaly in Castlebar.

Mortimer to captain Mayo

image preview

Mortimer appointed Mayo captain

New York here we come

image preview

It all starts here on Sunday at 3pm local time (8pm at home), the All Ireland senior football championship in its celebratory 125th year gets under way with the footballers of Mayo taking to the field in Gaelic Park, roughly 3,047 miles from home in McHale Park, Castlebar.

Mayo SFC Group 3

Ballaghaderreen v Breaffy


Page generated in 0.0457 seconds.