All to play for again as Moy Davitts and Kiltimagh can't be separated at the end

GAA: Mayo IFC Final; Moy Davitts 1-14 Kiltimagh 2-11

Back for more: Kiltimagh and Moy Davitts will have to do it all over again to try and claim the Sweeney Cup. Photo: Mayo GAA

Back for more: Kiltimagh and Moy Davitts will have to do it all over again to try and claim the Sweeney Cup. Photo: Mayo GAA

The conditions weren’t the best - but there was enough drama to ensure that next weekends replay between these two east Mayo sides - will be one to watch. It’s hard to know which of these sides will feel the happier after the full time whistle - Kiltimagh led by seven early in the second half and missed a number of good chances throughout the game.

Moy Davitts fought back brilliantly to edge themselves one point in front on a score of 1-14 to 2-10 through a Liam Byrne score that took well over a minute to be sorted out between referee and umpires before it was finally given. Tomas Keegan pulled his side back level four minutes into injury time and there was still time for TJ Byrne to have a crack at tricky free to win it for Kiltimagh right at the death, but his effort tailed off target.

These sides served up a thriller in the championship opener back in May and this one was as engrossing as it down the home straight - if not as high on quality in certain areas.

Brian Reape kicked the opening score of the day inside the first minute from a close range free, that was canceled out by a Stephen McDonnell point less than a minute later. Cillian Finn edged Kilti’ back in front with a well taken left footed effort on the five minute mark - that was replied to by a second Reape free. The sides went score for score over the next ten minutes with both teams tagging on two more points each, before the first goal of the day arrived.

Liam Lydon was the man who powered the ball to the net with a rasper of a finish from the edge of the area after he was played in by his brother David that put Pa McNichoals’ men three clear on 17 minutes. May Davitts though closed the gap back to a single point by the 23rd minute thanks to scores from Brian Heneghan and a classy Reape effort from play.

Kitlimagh should have bagged their second goal five minutes from the break when David Lydon cracked an effort off the post after some good build up play put in him close to goal. They did manage to tag on two points before the turn around from Mattie Cummins and Liam Lydon to go in ahead by three at the break.

Things got even better for Kiltimagh just two minutes into the second half with David Lydon hitting the back of the net when he finished off a slick move involving Liam Lydon and Ciaran Charlton (The Kilitimagh centre forward who was playing in his second county final in less than 24 hours - having won the Mayo senior hurling championship with Tooreen the day before ). Three minutes late the impressive Stephen McDonnell put his side seven clear with a lovely effort and it was looking good that the James Sweeney cup would be wintering in Kiltimagh.

Their opponents had other ideas and thanks to points from Reape, Heneghan and Oisin McHugh in quick fire succession the gap was back to a manageable four with less than ten minutes gone int the half. Sean Forkan pushed it out to five with a long range effort - but the momentum was shifting towards Pat Clarke’s men on the field.

Anthony Jordan popped over a free and Reape added on three more points and there was just the goal in it and that goal duly arrived six minutes from time when Paul Langan and McHugh combined to play in Reape who deftly finished to the net to tie the game up at 2-10 to 1-13 and it was all up for grabs now.

And despite the best efforts of both sides, nobody to make a definitive grab for the title and they’ll have to do it all again next weekend.


Moy Davitts: Brian Reale (1-7,4f ), Anthony Jordan (0-2, 1f ), Brian Heneghan (0-2 ), Liam Byrne (0-2 ), Oisin McHugh (0-1 )

Kiltimagh: Liam Lydon (1-1 ), Stephen McDonnell (0-3 ), David Lydon (1-0 ), Sean Walsh (0-2 ), Ronan Malee (0-1 ), Cillian Finn (0-1 ), Mattie Cummins (0-1 ), Tomas Keegan (0-1 )

Moy Davitts: C McGlynn; C Quinn, C Healy, S Mulroy; O McHugh, M Regan. N Regan; J Mulderrig, P Ruane; P Lanagan, S Kelly, A Bourke; A Jordan, B Reape. Subs: D Ruane, L Byrne

Kiltimagh: D Gallagher; M Cummins, K Mulderig, J Forkan; C Finn, S Forkan, C Henaghan; P Kelly, S Walsh; B Gallagher; C Charlton, S McDonnell; D Lydon, L Lydon, R Malee. Subs: E Lavin, T Keegan, TJ Byrne

Ref: G McMahon



Page generated in 0.0737 seconds.