Mayo make light work of Sligo challenge in U17 opener

Connacht GAA U17 Football Championship; Mayo 2-19 Sligo 0-9

The Mayo U17 team breezed through to the next round of the first ever Connacht u17 championship with a 16 point win over Sligo in MacHale Park on Sunday lunchtime. Mayo Gaels man James Jennings stared for Martin McIntyre’s men hitting seven points in an impressive display by the corner forward. Also putting in a staring role was Westport’s Pat Lambert who hit 2-2 from wing forward, his second goal in injury time putting the final stamp on the game.

Mayo could have finished the day with much more than then the two goals they registered with Alan Davey in the Sligo goal pulling off a number of big saves over the hour. Mayo had first half goal chances through Thomas Morris, Emmett Rowley, Paul Towey and Jennings that all failed to find the back of the net.

Mayo did go in leading by 1-9 to 0-6 at the turn around with Jennings leading the way in attack kicking four points and Lambert netting a goal after ten minutes. Sligo kept themselves in touch through five points from the very impressive Red Og Murphy at full forward and one from Gavin Gorman.

The second half saw Mayo in total control with Jennings kicking another three points and Lambert kicking 1-2, sub Kuba Callaghan also chipped in with two minors off the bench. While Mayo disappointed at minor level this year this u17 side looked a very impressive unit and they were never in danger of letting this one slip with Paddy Goldrick and John Gallagher forming a formidable partnership in the middle of the park that backboned this win.


Mayo: P Lambert (2-2 ) J Jennings (0-7, 3f ), K Callaghan (0-2 ), T Morris (0-2 ), A McHale (0-2 ), A McDonnell (0-1 ), E Rowley (0-1 ), L Tunney (0-1 ), P Golderick (0-1 )

Sligo: R Og Murphy (0-8, 7f ), G Gorman (0-1 )

Mayo: J McNicholas; J Coyne, B McLeod, J Higgins; A McHale, R Brickenden, A McDonnell; P Golderick, J Gallagher; P Lambert, E Rowley, L Burke; J Jennings, T Morris, P Towey. Subs: K Callaghan, L Tunney, D Trench, D Corden, S Tracey, C Gavin

Sligo: A Davey; B O’Hanlon, J Stephenson, E Lyons; K Kennedy, E Hallinan, C Murray; M Meehan, G Gorman; S O’Hara, B Molloy, P Benson; C Stenson, R Og Murphy, A Kilcullen. Subs: T Taheny, S Hailstones, H Gilvary, K Cosgrove

Ref: B Healy (Roscommon )


Page generated in 0.0748 seconds.