Two Mayo companies shortlisted for SFA National Small Business Awards 2017

The finalists in the SFA National Small Business Awards 2017 have been officially announced by Patricia Callan, SFA director. The aim of the awards is to celebrate the achievements of small businesses in Ireland, and to recognise the vital contribution of the small business sector to Irish industry. Thirty five companies have been selected as finalists, from 13 different counties, across eight categories with two coming from Mayo. 

The two Mayo nominees are Kelly’s of Newport who are artisan butchers that manufacture superior black and white puddings and speciality sausages and their business consists of a retail high street butchers shop, a manufacturing unit and a café. They are a finalist in the manufacturing category sponsored by Energia, the Food and Drink category sponsored by Bord Bia, and the Sustainable Energy category sponsored by SEAI. Big Red Barn, who provides full event management and event hire services, is nominated in the Outstanding Small Business category sponsored by AIB.

An Taoiseach Enda Kenny, who is patron of the awards, said: “Small firms have been central to Ireland’s recovery. I am delighted to support the SFA Awards again this year. Across Ireland there are thousands of people who go to work every day in small firms and they play an important role in our economy. It is fantastic to have these awards to highlight the success of many Irish businesses and their constant drive to improve and seek new markets. The Government will continue to support small firms and have made them a key part of our Regional Action Plan to spread the recovery to every region of Ireland.”

The awards prize package for all finalists includes an exhibition stand at the SFA National Small Business Showcase in the RDS in February 2017, a strategic management masterclass weekend, as well as broad ranging national and local media coverage, valued at €50,000. Finalists also receive five complementary tickets to the gala prize giving ceremony which will take place in the RDS in March 2017 when the category winners and overall winner will be announced. 


Page generated in 0.1104 seconds.