Taoiseach welcomes funding for works in Mayo schools

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has welcomed the announcement by Minister for Education and Skills, Richard Bruton, that 18 Mayo schools will to receive funding for Additional Accommodation and Emergency Works. "Fourteen schools have been approved for funding under the Emergency Works Scheme, which will allow them to carry out works on roof repairs, accessibility of the school and structural repairs," the Taoiseach said.

The schools to receive funding for emergency works are: St Joseph's CC, Charlestown; Geesala NS; Rice College, Westport; Scoil Phadraig, Market Square, Ballina; Scoil Iosa, Convent Hill, Ballina; Scoil Cholmcille, Breaffy, Ballina; Gortjordan National School; Culmore National School; Sacred Heart School, Westport; St Joseph's Community College, Charlestown; Behymore National School; St Colman's College, Claremorris; and Ballinrobe Community School.

Separately, four schools have been approved for additional accommodation "which will be of great benefit to pupils, teachers and staff there," said the Taoiseach. The schools are St Nicholas' Special School, Ballinalee which will get a 16sq m nurse's room/station, Brackloon National School which will get a 80sq m mainstream classroom, Coláiste Muire, Tuar Mhic Eadaigh, which will get two general classrooms, a wc for assisted users, a 136sq m construction studies/prep area, and conversion works to provide two general classrooms, and Mount St Michael SS, Claremorris, which is to get three general classrooms, a wc for assisted users and a 139sq m home economics room.


Page generated in 0.1483 seconds.