Hyland takes the chair in West Mayo

Independent councillor Christy Hyland was elected as the Cathoirleach of the West Mayo Municipal District at the district's annual general meeting on Monday afternoon in Westport. Cllr Hyland took over the chair of the district from fellow Independent councillor Michael Holmes, who was elected last year as the first Cathoirleach of the district.

There was no counter proposal against the election of Cllr Hyland to the chair, as the two Fianna Fáil councillors and the two Independent councillors in the district had a pre-arranged pact following the coalition between the party and five independents to control Mayo County Council itself. Fianna Fáil councillor Brendan Mulroy was elected as Leas Cathoirleach of the district for the coming year also at the meeting.

All of the six other councillors paid tribute to Cllr Holmes for his role as cathoirleach for the previous year and for his fairness in dealing with each councillor during meetings, and they complimented him on his year in the chair representing the newly formed area following last year's local elections. There were also calls for the Cathoirleach to be given a chain of office to wear when representing the district at official events.


Page generated in 0.1948 seconds.