Sinn Féin ratifies council contenders

The membership of Mayo Sinn Féin has unanimously ratified its team to contend the county council elections next June. The party’s local election convention held in Castlebar last weekend also endorsed the candidate to contest the Castlebar Town Council elections.

Sinn Féin’s election team is unique in the county as 50 per cent of those selected are female. The convention chairperson Councillor Seán MacManus highlighted the need for political parties to address the gender imbalance that exists on local authorities and congratulated the Mayo membership for putting together a strong team that would also represent the women of Mayo.

For the Mayo County Council, Councillor Gerry Murray will contest the Swinford electoral area, Rose Walsh – Belmullet, Councillor Dave Keating – Westport, and Therésè Ruane – Castlebar. Therésè Ruane was also chosen to contest the Castlebar Town Council elections and will take up Noel Campbell’s seat in that chamber in February. The selection of further candidates for the remaining town councils will take place at a later date.


Page generated in 0.0908 seconds.