Mayo Bronze at All-Ireland Surf Lifesaving Championships

It was an early start on Saturday, September 6 for the Mayo Lifesaving Team as they made their way down to the sunny south-east for the Irish Surf Lifesaving Championships. Brittas Bay in County Wicklow was the venue for this year’s annual lifesaving competition which sees the top lifesavers from all over Ireland compete for the top prize of the President's Cup.

Two teams from Mayo travelled to Wicklow to compete in the men's senior competition. Mayo Lifesaving had a strong showing over the weekend.

The Mayo A team made the finals of the Tube Rescue Relay and Taplin Relay placing fourth in both. Four of the Mayo competitors made the final in the men's senior sea swim. The highlight of the weekend for Mayo came in this final. Cillian Melly had a strong finish to overtake three other swimmers at the death to finish in third place overall, narrowly ahead of Mayo team-mate Eoghan Grady in fourth place to bring home a bronze medal for the county. Aichlinn O'Reilly and David McNieve also made the final of the men's senior sea swim.

The Mayo A team comprised Killian Dervan, Andrew Finn, Cillian Melly, Eoghan Grady and Patrick Livingstone, and in the Mayo B team were David McNieve, Conal Joyce, Aichlinn O'Reilly, and Cian Conboy.


Page generated in 0.2033 seconds.