Busy midweek of racing around Mayo

There was a brilliant turnout at Brickens on Tuesday for the second running of their 5k which was the fourth race in Mayo AC Summer series.

The series seems to have really taken off this year with a great atmosphere at all the events. Brickens had a field of 188 - over 50 more than 2013.

Conditions were not quite as hot as last year, but nobody complained in the lovely evening sun while a gentle breeze helped cool the brows of participants around the one lap course.

Ambrose Gaughan marshalled his troops excellently, and was well supported by members and local organisers. The event went very smoothly from registration to finish line.

Well done to the recorders and compilers who produced the results within a couple of hours on wwwmayoac.com

Conor Dolan won his fourth series race in succession and Catherine Conway was first woman home for the third time. The top three men’s finishers were Conor Dolan (GCH ) 16:06, John Nolan (Mayo AC ) 17:22 and TJ McHugh 17:29. The top three women finishers were, Catherine Conway 18:56, Pauline Moran 20:47 and Ann McDonnell 21:11. The final summer series race is at Claremorris on July 15 at 8pm. Also on Tuesday evening in the Ballina (Fr Peter O'Brien ) 10k, Roger Barrett ran his first race in a Mayo AC vest and recorded a brilliant victory on home terrain finishing in 33:16. Sarah Syron (Mayo AC ) was also one of prize-winners there with a great time of 40:01 for third in the women's race. Top three finishers men, Roger Barrett (Mayo AC ) 33:16, Richard Gorman (Sligo AC ) 33:35 and 3 Michael Canty 34:04. Top three women, Norah Newcombe (Ballina AC ) 37:30, Lorna Fitzpatrick (Derry AC ) 39:48 and Sarah Syron (Mayo AC ) 40:01.

Mayo runners to compete in Energia 24 Hour Race

Four runner from Mayo will be competing in the Energia 24-Hour race on the Mary Peters’ Track in Belfast on Friday, July 18 through to Saturday, July 19.

Pat Staunton from Westport, Aidan McLoughlin and Donna McLoughlin from Achill Island and Aine Gallagher from Ballindine have entered the endurance race where competitors run as many laps of the 400m race track as they can in 24 hours.

Race director Ed Smith said: “When we started out with this idea of running around-the-clock in 2010 - 18 runners showed up and it was won by Fermanagh’s Thomas Maguire. He ran a very creditable 127 miles (204km ). Everest conqueror Lynne Hanna completed 90 miles (145km ) in winning the women’s race. Four years on there is no doubt the appetite has grown for ultra-running - and especially to see just how far can be covered in 24 hours - with many looking to register 100 miles,” he added.


Page generated in 0.0968 seconds.