Tight finishes in competitions around Mayo


Paul Murtagh was the winner of the gents’ competition last weekend with a score of 38pts, he finished just one point in front of Joe Healy in second place, and Don Dillon was the third place finisher. The ladies’ section was won by Nora Heraty who scored 38pts, Breege Jennings finished in second, and Mary B O’Donnell took the third place finish.


John Bourke was the winner of the Vice Captain’s Prize last weekend with a score of 66nett. He finished just in front of Robert Bradwell in second and Rory Tighe in third place. The category prizes were won by Bernie Lawrence, David Finnerty and Gerry Connor. The Kevin Connolly Motors singles competition was taken by Keith Cunningham with a score of 63, Jonathan Doherty finished in second and Patrick McGoldrick in third place.


Last weekend’s competition was sponsored by Tierney’s Shoe’s Ballinrobe and Westport. The gents’ competition was won by Niall O’Sullivan who scored 40pts, he finished just in front of Blane Lynch in second place. The gross prize was won by Aaron D’Arcy, with Charlie O’Sullivan taking third place. The category prize was won by Martin Boyle, with the front nine win going to James O’Gorman, and Tony O’Toole took the back nine win.

The ladies’ competition was won by Terry Mullan who shot a score of 40pts, Connie D’Arcy finished in second place, with Margaret McHugh taking the third place finish. Anne Tracey came home in fourth place, with Angela Gill winning the front nine competition and Mary Nolan taking the back nine win.


Pat Feeney won the Estor and Co Accountants sponsored competition with a score of 45pts last weekend. Tony Cribben finished in second place and Martin Keane took third. In the ladies’ competition Claire Lannon was the winner with a score of 41pts and Kay Keane finished in second place. The junior section was won by Andrew Hickey who scored 40pts.


Last weekend saw a four-ball competition sponsored by Smyth’s Toys take place in Claremorris, the related section was won by Michael and Shane Prendergast who scored 40pts between them. The non related section was won by Sean McGuinness and Kieran Canavan who scored 45pts, Pat Hession and Garry O’Toole finished in second place, and the duo of Andrew Finn and John Donnellan finished in third place.


Alan McAdam had a convincing win in the Gavin Coffee Shop, Westport, sponsored competition on Sunday. His excellent 43pts put him six shots clear of Peter Sheridan and Martin O’Carroll, both of whom recorded 37pts to finish second and third respectively.

Next Sunday’s Golfer of the Year competition is sponsored by Flannelly Insurance, Castlebar. Vinny Gannon, with 19 pts, is the GOY leader, after three rounds, with Sean Heverin in second place on 18 pts. Richard Keane, Paddy Chambers, and Alan McAdam are trailing in joint third place on 11 pts. A nine-hole competition for men will be held on Saturday in conjunction with Rod Wood’s vice-captain’s prize for ladies, with a draw at 3.30pm. The nine holes summer scramble series will commence on Friday June 27 at 6pm and continue for July and August. The scrambles will be open to ladies and gents, and a special invite goes out to beginners, students, and junior members. Non members are also invite to participate.


David Ronayne won the “3Ts” competition last weekend with a score of 40pts, he finished just in front of Declan Munnelly in second and Simon Ronayne in third place. The ladies competition was won by Bernie Walsh who scored 69 nett, with Esther Munnelly finishing in second place, and Martina Nolan finishing in third place. This Sunday’s competition is the President’s Prize.


The 2014 Gathering of Golfing Insomniacs hosted by Westport Golf Club is on Saturday June 28 with a shotgun start at 5am. Registration in the clubhouse at 4.30am. The €10 competition entry includes a breakfast bap after the round. All are welcome. Last weekend’s Bertie Staunton Golfer of the Year competition was won by Jack Healy with a score of 42pts, Austin O’Toole finished in second place a point further behind, and Teddy McDonnell finished in third place. The gross prize was won by Liam Halpin, with the category prizes being won by Sean Hoban, Carl Rose, Peter McNally, and Padraic Duffy.


Page generated in 0.0984 seconds.