Mayo Cycling League moves into gear in Westport

Only two weeks to go until the first Mayo cycling league event, last year there were huge numbers racing. This year the hopes are to have an even more successful league, with more new cycling clubs set up over the winter.

In 2012 Keith O’Connell, Westport Covey Wheelers, won the coveted yellow jersey by scoring the highest number of points over the eight rounds, in the Team Category Western Lakes CC won the inaugural cup as team winners.

So far in 2013 Castlebar CC, Westport Covey Wheelers and Western Lakes CC have huge numbers competing in races nationally so this should make for fierce racing in the local domestic scene.

With nine cycling clubs in Mayo with more than 1,000 members affiliated to Cycling Ireland cycling is indeed healthy in Mayo.

Round one will take place next Wednesday, March 27, in Westport. Sign on is from 5.30pm to 6.15pm at the Leisure Park on James Street. The first rider will be away at 6.30pm on the 16km TT course. There will be eight more races over the course of the season, up to July 10, across the county.


Page generated in 0.1037 seconds.