Club championship draw sets up exciting summer

The meeting room of Elverys McHale Park was the setting for Monday’s draw for this year’s Mayo football club championships. A cold Monday night in early March is a long way from the white-heat of battle that will be engaged in by the 16 teams in the senior, intermediate, and junior B championships with 24 teams going to battle for the junior crown come summer time.

The first draw has set up a number of really interesting looking battles in all of the groups, none more so than in group one of the senior championship, which is once again sponsored by Treanlaur Catering. This group has pitted local rivals Castlebar Mitchels and Breaffy in with the always dangerous Crossmolina Deel Rovers and the steadily improving Davitts. Group two has pitted a Ballina Stephenites side who will be looking to show that last year’s brush with relegation was a blip, last year’s beaten finalists, and the winners of the two previous championships, Ballintubber, together. They will be joined by south Mayo rivals Claremorris and Shrule-Glenncorrib who will be keen to show they are not there to make up the numbers against the perceived heavyweights in their group.

In Group 3 last year’s intermediate champions Charlestown have been pitted against old rivals Knockmore and a coming Westport side, and the always tough nut to crack Tourmakeady. Defending champions Ballaghaderreen will be the hot favourites to come out of Group 4 in pole position, but who will follow them promises to be one of the most intriguing battles of all the groups, with Ballinrobe, Garrymore, and Aghamore all having valid reasons to believe they can make it into the last eight

Treanlaur SFC Group 1

Castlebar Mitchels, Breaffy, Crossmolina, Davitts.

Round 1: Davitts v Castlebar Mitchels, Breaffy v Crossmolina

Round 2: Crossmolina v Davitts, Breaffy Castlebar

Round 3: Castlebar v Crossmolina, Davitts v Breaffy

Treanlaur SFC Group 2

Ballintubber, Shrule-Glencorrib, Claremorris, Ballina

Round 1: Ballina v Shrule-Glenncorrib, Ballintubber v Claremorris

Round 2: Claremorris v Ballina, Ballintubber v Shrule-Glenncorrib

Round 3: Shrule-Glencorrib v Claremorris, Ballina v Ballintubber

Treanlaur SFC Group 3

Westport, Knockmore, Charlestown, Tourmakeady

Round 1: Charlestown v Westport, Tourmakeady v Knockmore

Round 2 :Knockmore v Charlestown, Tourmakeady v Westport

Round 3: Westport v Knockmore, Charlestown v Tourmakeady

Treanlaur SFC Group 4

Garrymore, Ballinrobe, Aghamore, Ballaghaderreen

Round 1: Garrymore v Ballinrobe, Aghamore v Ballaghaderreen

Round 2: Ballaghaderreen v Garrymore, Aghamore v Ballinrobe

Round 3: Ballinrobe v Ballaghaderreen, Garrymore v Aghamore

Egan Jewellers IFC Group 1

Kilmaine, Neale, Hollymount-Carramore, Bonniconlon

Round 1: Kilmaine v Neale, Hollymount-Carramore v Bonniconlon

Round 2: Bonniconlon v Kilmaine, Hollymount-Carramore v The Neale

Round 3: Neale v Bonniconlon, Kilmaine v Hollymount-Carramore

Egan Jewellers IFC Group 2

Swinford, Burrishoole, Killala, Mayo Gaels

Round 1: Swinford v Burrishoole, Killala v Mayo Gaels

Round 2: Mayo Gaels v Swinford, Killala v Burrishoole

Round 3: Burrishoole v Mayo Gaels, Swinford v Killala

Egan Jewellers IFC Group 3

Belmullet, Moy Davitts, Islandeady, Parke

Round 1: Moy Davitts v Parke, Islandeady v Belmullet

Round 2: Mayo Gaels v Swinford, Killala v Islandeady

Round 3: Parke v Belmullet, Moy Davitts v Islandeady

Egan Jewellers IFC Group 4

Ballyhaunis, Achill, Kiltimagh, Kiltane

Round 1: Kiltimagh v Ballyhaunis, Kiltane v Achill

Round 2: Achill v Kiltimagh, Kiltane v Ballyhaunis

Round 3: Ballyhaunis v Achill, Kiltimagh v Kiltane

Breaffy House JFC Group 1

Ardagh, Claremorris, Cill Chomain, Ballina Stephenites, Crossmolina, Hollymount-Carramore

Breaffy House JFC Group 2

Louisburgh, Balla, Ballycroy, Castlebar, Shrule-Glenncorrib, Lacken

Breaffy House JFC Group 3

Eastern Gaels, Charlestown, Kilmeena, Lahardane, Ballaghaderreen, Moygownagh

Breaffy House JFC Group 4

Kilmovee Shamrocks, Ardnaree, Knockmore, Ballycastle, Kilfian, Ballintubber.


Page generated in 0.1101 seconds.