Grainne Uaile battle to go to the wire



Last weekend’s men’s stableford competition was won by Paraic Cuffe with a score of 39pts, Noel Healy was second with Martin Moylette finishing third. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Gillard on 39pts, with Geraldine Kilgallon second and Nora Heraty third. This weekend’s competition is sponsored by Gilvarry and Associates, Castlebar. The format is strokeplay. The overall winner of this competition will also be the winner of the Balla Perpetual Cup.


Last Sunday’s ladies’ competition was an 18 hole stableford sponsored by Hallahan’s Newsagents and was won by Frances Burke on 39pts. Her play on the back nine was enough to hold off Mary Caulfied who finished second and Mary Rafter who came third. The Ballina Lady Captain’s open in aid of Multiple Sclerosis will take place this Sunday and will be an 18 hole stableford competition. It will be sponsored by the Loft Bar and entry costs €10 and a time sheet will be in operation.

The gents’ competition last week, sponsored by Ballina Beverages, was won by Gregory Battle on 64, with Michael Parsons finishing second and Paul Moran third.


Last weekend’s stableford competition was won by Alan Delaney on 40pts, Pat Feeney finished in second and Stephen Ryall finished in third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Josie Folliard who scored 40pts and Kung Fanning finished second.


Mayo Crystal sponsored the 18 hole stableford competition played last Sunday. Conditions were tough with a fresh wind and some drizzly rain throughout the day but there was some high calibre scoring. James Jennings was the winner with 40pts. Martin Roache finished in second and Peter Horkan came third. Shane O'Connor was the gross prize winner, with Peter Walsh winning the junior prize.

Last Saturday was also Lady President, Una Ainsworth’s day. This was the final major of the year for the ladies with Maeve Nevin winning with a super score of 67nett. Connie White finished second and Leah Kerr won the gross, while Susanna Kenny was in third place with 71 nett.


Last weekend’s four ball better ball competition was sponsored by PK Motors. James Prendergast and Kevin Reilly were the winners with Austin Garvin and Philip White finishing in second place. The singles’ competition was won by Brian Farragher and Patricia Prendergast and Dympna Clarke were the ladies’ four ball winners.


Achill maintained their lead after round two of the Grainne Uaile triangular tournament but the host club, Mulranny, enjoyed a good day and closed the gap on the leaders as they head for Belmullet for the final round on Sunday next. The current scoreboard read; Achill 535.5, Mulranny 524, and Belmullet 501. Mulranny claimed the individual honours with David Ryder and Mick O’Donnell shooting 47pts to pip the consistent pairing of Noel O'Malley and Ger Staunton on the back nine. Colam O’Neill and Declan Nevin contributed 45 pts as Mulranny’s third scorers.

Next weekend a club stableford competition will be held. You may play on Friday, Saturday or Sunday. All second round matches in the Autumn Cup should be played without undue delay. Entries are now being taken for the Mulranny Park Hotel winter league. Teams of 4 cost €80. The league is open to ladies and gents and full details are posted in clubhouse.


Nuala Hopkins was the winner of the ladies’ gala day, this day last week. She finished in front of Maureen Behan in second, Dee Gavin in third and Mary McNicholas in fourth. The weekend ladies’ competition was won by Pauline Goggins on 38pts, Pam McIntyre came second and Nuala Walsh finished in third. The gents’ Golfer of the Year competition was won by Mick McGovern, with Tom Keane second, Paul Moore third and Gerry Hughes fourth


Page generated in 0.1149 seconds.