Ginty takes chair of Ballina area committee

Independent councillor Gerry Ginty this week took over as chairperson of the Ballina Electoral Area Committee.

Outgoing chairperson, Cllr Seamus Weir told the meeting before the election of the new chair that he thought it would be a good idea to share out the role among all the members. The Fine Gael councillor then asked for nominations for the chair, initially Fianna Fáil’s councillor Annie May Reape was nominated, but she said that while she was thankful for the nomination she would not be seeking the chair.

Then Cllr Jarlath Munnelly nominated Cllr Ginty which was seconded by Cllr Reape. After taking the chair Cllr Ginty thanked the other members of the committee and said that it showed the great level of co-operation among the members in the area, despite their political allegiances.


Page generated in 0.1440 seconds.