Tyrone Guthrie recipients announced

Every year Mayo County Council offers two bursary awards to artists born or living in Mayo, to enable them to spend two weeks at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig, County Monaghan. Each bursary covers all board and lodging expenses for a two-week period, plus the use of a studio if relevant. There are a variety of work spaces including studios, a music room for composers and musicians, a multi-media room and a large rehearsal and performance space.

This year’s successful applicants were visual artists Mary Noonan and Will O’Kane, who were selected by an independent, external panel of experts.

Mary Noonan is a visual artist originally from Claremorris now based in Dublin. In 2009 she received a Masters in Fine Art (painting ) from the National College of Art and Design. She graduated from her B.A. in Fine Art (painting ) from NCAD 2003. Her work involves many different media including painting, drawing, print and sculptural installation, most of her work is drawing based.

Will O'Kane is a visual artist based in Dublin. He is originally from Castlebar. He has exhibited throughout Ireland and abroad. His most recent solo exhibitions include Ballina Arts Centre 2008, The Linenhall Arts Centre 2009 and The Couch Gallery, Cork in 2010. His work has featured in many group shows including Undertow at Ormston House Limerick 2011 which travelled to the Lab Dublin in 2012, The 181st RHA Annual Exhibition, Claremorris Open Exhibition 2011, The Davy Portrait Awards 2010, Tulca Visual Arts Festival 2007. He is currently working on a new series of paintings. The bursaries are advertised annually and are open to practitioners in all art forms born or domiciled within County Mayo.


Page generated in 0.1390 seconds.