McAdam wins a year’s free golf at Mulranny


Last weekend was the first Golfer of the Year event and in the men’s section, John Walsh was the winner with a score of 52. Mick Mellett came second on 53 and Pat Kilgallon took third with a score of 54. The ladies’ competition was won by Nora Gibbons whose back nine play saw her hold off Geraldine O’Malley in second place when both finished on 52. Aine MhicSuibhne came third. The gross prize was won by PJ Brett.

This week’s competition is a stableford competition sponsored by Cox’s. The evening scrambles will recommence on Wednesday, April 4 at 5pm.


Last weekend’s ladies’ nine hole stableford competition was won by Dolores Tuohy with a score of 18pts, her back nine play saw her hold off Catherine Egan on 18pts. The Mayo Pink Ribbon Golf Classic is taking place on Friday, April 13 and Saturday, April 14. It costs €160 per team of four and a time sheet will be in operation, Ring 096-21050. Prizes galore, all proceeds in support of Mayo Pink Ribbon.


The Seniors Retired Society sponsored last weekend’s competition which saw Kay Keane win the ladies’ section on 39pts, with Fiona Prenty coming second on 36pts. The gents’ competition was claimed by Liam Lynskey who scored 43pts, Eddie Murphy came second a point back and David Burke took third.


Martin Higgins won the gents’ competition on 43pts, he finished one point in front of Tommy Hynes with Owen Hannon coming third. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Ann Moran on 36pts.


Alan McAdam got the new golfing season off to a scintillating start when he captured the first golfer of the year competition with a hot score of 64. His reward is free golf at Mulranny for 2013. He had two shots to spare over Christy McDonnell who shot 66, with Noel O’Malley third on 67.

Michael Scanlon from Achill G.C. was the winner of Friday’s Open with a score of 31 pts. Friday competitions are open to ladies and gents and entry fee is €15 for visitors and €5 for members


In the juvenile skills competition held recently at the club the boys’ section was won by Frank McNicholas and the girls’ by Megan Gavin. The Westport Fred Daly team was defeated in the last match to lose their first round tie against Enniscrone last Sunday. Liam Friel secured a 3 and 2 victory over Pat Bree in the deciding rubber in the Winter League final played on Sunday last. In the gents’ competition last Sunday, Tommie J Reilly was the winner on 45pts, Padraic Higgins came second on 41pts, with John Kavanagh taking third. In the ladies’ competition Mary McNicholas was the winner on 32pts, she just held off Nuala Hopkins who finished second, with Maureen Walsh coming third and Nuala Moody fourth.


Page generated in 0.0987 seconds.