Awards presentation night for Mayo League

An awards presentation celebration was enjoyed by the Mayo League in The Welcome Inn Hotel, Castlebar, last weekend, acknowledging much of the fine talent among players and management.

Team Manager of the Year was awarded to Jimmy Flannery of Bangor Hibs while Westport United goalkeeper Gary Cunningham picked up Goalkeeper of the Year. The Special Recognition award went to Brian McHale of Bangor Hibs, who scored an astonishing six hat-tricks in consecutive matches.

The Special Appreciation Award was presented to Angela Nugent from Mid-West Radio, and Tom Kelly received the very prestigious Outstanding Service Award for dedicating 27 years to soccer in Mayo. Noel Barrett of Glenhest Rovers was awarded Personality of the Year, and Gerry Kirby of Fahy Rovers was awarded Secretary of the Year.

The Club of the Year title was awarded to Bangor Hibernians while PJ Duffy received the Hall of Fame award for his lifetime of dedicated service to his club, Conn Rangers. Castlebar Celtic's Ronan O'Boyle won one of the most prized awards, Footballer of the Year. Well done to all.


Page generated in 0.1026 seconds.