Westport loses by one point to Killarney in Tidy Towns

Minister for State for Tourism and Sport Michael Ring has congratulated Pamela Flanagan, chairperson of the Westport Tidy Towns Committee, and the committee itself, on the wonderful results for Westport in the Tidy Towns competition 2011. Westport just lost out to Killarney on being overall winner by one point.

Minister Ring also complimented Joe Beirne, director of services, and the indoor and outdoor staff of Westport Town Council, FÁS, and Mayo County Council.

Westport received the Gold Medal Award, the Regional Award for the West Region, and the County Award in Mayo. Murrisk and Aughagower came second and third place in the county.

Dep Ring said he would also like to congratulate Murrisk on receiving the Bronze Medal Award, the Endeavour Award for Mayo went to Kilmaine, and the Heritage Award was received by the Ballina Salmon Weir Restoration Project.

The success is a culmination of years of hard work by lots of people in the Tidy Towns over the years and it is a great tribute to all involved.


Page generated in 0.1594 seconds.