Students in Mayo invited to enter the 2012 Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards

The sixth annual Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards – the only programme of its kind in Ireland – launches this week. All second-level students who volunteer in their community, at school, or abroad are encouraged to apply.

To date three schools from Mayo have been honoured in the Spirit of Community Awards — St Mary’s Secondary School, Ballina; Davitt College, Castlebar; and St Tiernan’s College, Crossmolina.

Post-primary students are invited to submit applications to their school principal by October 26. Principals will review the applications and nominate one student in the junior category (for students up to age 16 ) and one student in the senior category (for students 17 to 19 years old ). The deadline for the nominations is November 11.

Finalists will receive a certificate of merit, €500, an engraved silver medallion and an invitation to the gala awards dinner to be held in Derry in March. Two All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year will be selected at the awards dinner. Each will receive €1,000 for a charity of his/her choice, a gold medallion, and an all-expenses paid trip to the United States to attend the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards ceremony, Launched in 2006, Pramerica Spirit of Community is sponsored by Donegal-based Pramerica Systems Ireland in partnership with the National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals and the General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland.

The application form and further information about the Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards programme can be downloaded from


Page generated in 0.1738 seconds.