Mayo Business Award finalists announced

The Mayo Chambers are pleased to announce that the adjudicators have confirmed the finalists in each category of the Mayo Business Awards 2008 in association with Bord Gáis Networks. The awards ceremony will take place on Friday November 21 in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris, where the winners and runners up will be announced. The finalists are as follows:

Sponsored by the Mayo County Enterprise Board and adjudicated by Enterprise Ireland, the finalists in the Best New Business Award are McWilliam Park Hotel (Claremorris ), Declan Foley Designwest (Kiltimagh ) and Ice House Hotel (Ballina ).

The Business Growth Award, sponsored by Vhi Healthcare, was also adjudicated by Enterprise Ireland. The finalists in this category are Major Equipment Intl Ltd (Ballyhaunis ), Sean Kelly, Kelly Butchers (Newport ), Homecare Medical Supplies Ltd (Ballyhaunis ) and the Cleaning Corporation Ltd (Castlebar ).

Best Retail Premises, Customer Service in the Retail Sector, Customer Service in the Service Sector, Customer Service in Tourism and Leisure Sector have all been adjudicated by a mystery shopper. In each case marks out of 100 were awarded based on the criteria set out in the awards brochure for each category.

The Best Retail Premises Award is sponsored by the Connaught Telegraph and the finalists are: Eye World (Westport ), Purity Everyday Elegance Ltd (Ballina ) and Shine Contemporary Jewellery, Clothing and Accessories (Claremorris ).

The AIB is sponsoring the Customer Service Award in the Retail Sector and the finalists in this category are: Abbey Kitchens (Swinford ), Kavanagh Group Super Valu (Castlebar ) and Linenhall Shop and Restaurant (Westport ).

Sponsored by Tesco Ireland, the finalists in the Customer Service Award in the Service Sector are: Billy Heffron Business Services (Ballina ), Watch Tower Designs, David Keane and Associates (Claremorris ), and Joseph A Mellett Ltd (Swinford ).

The Western People are the sponsors of the Customer Service Award in Tourism / Leisure and the finalists in this category are Downhill House Hotel (Ballina ), Castlecourt Hotel (Westport ), and the Towers Bar and Restaurant (Westport ).

The Environment Award is sponsored and adjudicated by Mayo County Council. The finalists in this category are: APC (Castlebar ), Westport Woods Hotel and Spa (Westport ) and Clew Bay Hotel (Westport ).

Údarás na Gaeltachta in Belmullet adjudicated the Innovation in Business Award which is co-sponsored by GMIT, IiBC (Innovation in Business Centre ) and WESTBIC, Mayo Ideas Lab. The finalists in this category are: Croagh Patrick Seafoods (Newport ), Western Edge Medical Communications Ltd (Ballina ) and Gills Driving School (Ballina ).

The Mayo Pub of the Year is sponsored by the Glesson Group and the finalists in this category are: Westport Inn Hotel (Westport ), Jordans Bar and Restaurant (Ballina ), Cosy Joes Ltd (Westport ) and Murphy Bros (Ballina ).

Sponsored by the Mayo News and adjudicated by WESTBIC, finalists in the Best New Business Concept Award category are: GVS (Castlebar ), Get Fresh Catering (Westport ) and Sentinel Fuel Products Ltd (Ballyhaunis ).

Údarás Na Gaeltachta and Gnó Mhaigh Eo are co-sponsoring the Business through Irish Award and have been adjudicated by Northern Ireland Screen. The finalists in this category are: Commarchumann Forbartha Ionad Deirbhile (Erris ), Maithú (Ballina ), and Cló Mhaigh Eo (Claremorris ).

Another award will also be presented on the night, that of Chamber Recognition for Industry sponsored by Bord Gáis Networks. The winner will be kept a closely guarded secret until the event.

Tickets for the dinner and awards ceremony, which will be hosted by Teresa O’Malley, Head of News at Mid West Radio, and is taking place in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris on Friday November 21, are now on sale from Ballina Chamber on 096 72800.

Tickets are €75 and entertainment on the night is by Avalon. The ceremony will commence with a wine reception. All businesses are welcome to attend.

The Mayo Chambers of Commerce would like to thank their sponsors for their financial support and commitment to making these awards the most prestigious business event in County Mayo.


Page generated in 0.1225 seconds.