All eyes on Carramore this weekend


Racing for victory: Cian McMenamon, Westport AC, in action during the 5km walk at Woodie’s DIY AAI Games, Morton Stadium, Santry, Dublin. Photo:Sportsfile

Racing for victory: Cian McMenamon, Westport AC, in action during the 5km walk at Woodie’s DIY AAI Games, Morton Stadium, Santry, Dublin. Photo:Sportsfile

The Carramore race is a traditional 10k race ran over a fast flat rural one lap course. The Carramore 10k has been organised by Christy Heneghan and his local committee for the past 10 years or so. There is also a four mile walk over a separate course. Both events start at 6pm on Saturday May 21 and both are in support of Mayo Roscommon Hospice. This is the second race in the 2011 Mayo AC Road Race League. Gerry Ryan, John Byrne, and Robert Malseed are previous Carramore 10k winners and Catherine Conway, Mary Gleeson, and Regina Casey have won the women's race.

There are cash prizes for the first three finishers in the men’s race, and the first two men home in the over 40 and over 50 sections. In the women’s race there are cash prizes on offer for the first three women home and for the first two finishers in the over 40 and over 45 events. Entries cost €10 and will be taken on the day at the community centre beside the start/finish line from 4.30pm. Refreshments and prizegiving will take place in the community centre after the race. For more information on the race or the walk contact Christy Heneghan on 087 1259435.

Good performances from Mayo athletes in Sligo dash

It was a reassuring breath of fresh air to have a couple of real local road races in the past week, with reasonable entry fees, prize funds advertised and awarded accordingly, and age categories recognised and included. Scenery optional.

On Sunday more than 500 participants gathered in wet and breezy O'Connell Street for the Streets of Sligo 5k. It was good to see a dynamic town race resurrected. It was a one lap race that was not flat despite starting and finishing beside the Garavogue River. This town race was exciting for the many onlookers lining the streets and they were treated to a battle royal finish between two Sligo AC athletes. Alberto Sanchez just edged out David Kelly by one second in a very fast time 14.45. Sanchez is the current Irish Universities 3,000 metres champion. Eimear O'Brien (Sligo AC ) was first woman in 18.30.

There were some Mayo winners, Ronnie Naylor finished second in the o50 section in a time of 19.04. Tom Hunt was first in the o60 in a time of 19.19. Conor Mckeon from Westport AC was well up in 48th place over all finishing the 5km course in a time of in 19.56.

Michael McGrath relishes the wet weather conditions and finished in 20.40, while Christy O'Malley completed his third 5k of the week in 21.54. Mary Naylor was first woman in the o50 section in a time of 22.31, she finished just ahead of Una McGrath, Colm Naylor (14 ) ran a respectable 24.59 and Jim Donnelly finished in 26.50.

How fast can you run? Find out in Ballindine

This is your chance to find out how fast you can run. This race, taking place in Ballindine, is organised a little differently to ‘normal’ races. You must guess your time in advance, at registration on the day, and the winner is determined by the finishing time closest to his or her predicted time. The last can be first.

This means that everyone, fast or slow, has an equal chance to win — but, obviously, no watches, GPS devices, or headphones are allowed. The course is a four miler on quiet country roads. Fully AAI certified by Mayo AC, this is a great way to enjoy an active evening building community spirit. All proceeds go to Western Alzheimers. The event will take place on Saturday, May 28 registration costs €15 and the race gets under way at 7pm, with a walk starting at 6.30pm. The race HQ will be at Ballindine Community Centre.


Page generated in 0.0995 seconds.