Winter league gets players back on the course


Last weekend’s winner of the Stableford competition sponsored by CT Electric was Stephen Minogue who shot 38, Michael Neary came home in second place on 37. He just held off Jimmy Sheridan who came third on the same score thanks to some strong scoring on the back two. The ladies’ competition was won by Elaine O’Hara who scored 32, with Kathleen Minogue coming home in second place and Delia O’Hara in third. Membership for 2011 is now due and should be sent to the treasurer, Mary Brett, Mayo Abbey, Claremorris. Membership fees are as follows: single €200; family €285; student €70; youths €45.


The competition sponsored by An Lochán was won by John Mooney who finished with 40pts, Shane Freeman was only one point back in second place. The ladies’ competition was won by Siobhann Herr who scored 38pts for her round.


The golfing season finally got back to some level of normality last weekend after the inclement weather of the past few months. Ballina Golf Club held a 15 hole Stableford competition and almost 60 players took part. Conditions were ideal and the course was in excellent condition despite the recent poor weather.

PJ Corrigan was the winner on the day with a score of 40pts, with Darren Flaherty coming home in second place with 36pts. All members are reminded that subs for the 2011 season are due. You are encouraged to pay subs as early as possible. This can be done in either monthly instalments up to and including March or on a one off basis.


In the second round of the winter league, Willie Feeley, Mick Conway, and Anthony Hennelly were the winners with a score of 68 points. The trio of Alan Ferrick, Tom Burke, and John Walsh came home in second place with a score of 65 points. The club is currently inviting new members for the current season. Beginners can avail of a special entry fee of €225, which is great value.

The seniors competition is up and running for the new season. Willie Feeley was the winner of the competition with 35 points. The club offers its deepest sympathy to the Killeen Family on the death of their mother Betty Killeen who died last week.


The fourth round of the winter league saw some good scoring in Westport. The front nine was won by the team of Pat Fleming, Martin Halpin, Liam Gibbons, and John Gibbons. The side of John Moore, Seamus Gill, John Mannion, and Jerry Moran came second on the front nine.

On the return leg, it was the foursome of Michael Canning, Mick Lavelle, John Connolly, and Sean O’Grady who were the winners. Adrian Thompson, John Kavanagh, Jim Keane, and the other John Kavanagh came second.


Page generated in 0.0996 seconds.