Indoor masters this weekend

The AAI National Masters Indoor Track and Field Championships take place this Sunday January 23 in the Nenagh indoor arena. Mayo AC will have a strong team heading down to the event and are confident of continuing the club’s good record of recent years in this championship. The Mayo team is made up of Tom Hunt, Robert Malseed, Pat Moran, Anne Murray, and Martin Peyton.

Smith claims junior title

Allan Smith, Ballina Athletic Club, won the AAI Junior high jump championship in Nenagh last week. He only jumped two heights - 1.90m on entry and a very good first time clearance on his next jump which won the event despite slipping on his take off. In the past few weeks he has increased his personal best twice, set a Scottish athletics indoor league record of 2.10m, and is currently the leading ranked junior men’s high jumper in the UK and Ireland.

The Westport 5k has been re fixed for Sunday February 20 starting at 11am. The event was cancelled in December due to the extreme weather conditions. For more information on the event contact Michael on 086 8534729 after 7pm.

Barrett back on the podium

In 1991, as a 12-year-old new to distance running, Roger Barrett won the under 12 Connaught cross-country championships and went on to claim a bronze medal in the All-Ireland championships held in Laois. His natural talent was clearly evident at that age. Little did he think it would take 18 years before he would find himself back on a podium at All-Ireland level.

It has been a long journey but one made worthwhile with a sublime performance at the All-Ireland novice cross country championships in Tullamore last weekend. Some of the best emerging talent in Irish cross country compete in this race in a tough test against the terrain and the rest of the country. Barrett finished third in a field of 200 athletes from all corners of Ireland. In the team competition, Ballina AC finished 11th out of 21 teams to complete the race. The Ballina team was Roger Barrett, Michael Canty, Seán Gallagher, Scott Walkin, Dónal Gallagher, Niall Cawley, and Gerry Gallagher.


Page generated in 0.1189 seconds.