Two Mayo players on TG4 team of the decade

Two Mayo players have been honoured with places on the TG4 ladies’ football team of the decade.

Carnacon’s Cora Staunton and Hollymount’s Christina Heffernan were the two Mayo stars to get the nod in the best 15 of the past 10 years. Heffernan, who has seven All Stars and four All Ireland senior medals, was selected in the marquee centre half forward position, while Staunton, who also has seven All Stars and four senior titles along with three All Ireland club titles, was named at top of the left in the number 15 position.

Both players were lynchpins of Mayo’s success in the claiming four All Irelands in the late 1990s and early part of this decade, with Mayo claiming two All Ireland championships since the millennium, in 2002 and 2004.


Page generated in 0.0913 seconds.