Golfer of the year competitions heating up around the county


All smiles in Balla: The winners of the recent stableford competition in Balla Golf Club, sponsored by Fragile Castlebar.

All smiles in Balla: The winners of the recent stableford competition in Balla Golf Club, sponsored by Fragile Castlebar.


Last weekend’s Stableford competition sponsored by Abbeybreaffy nursing home was won by Fenton Barrett with a score of 40. Barrett, for winning the competition, also picked up the Joe Leavy memorial trophy. PJ Brett came home in second place with a score of 37 thanks to a strong finish on the back nine, with Stephen Minogue coming home in third place. The category prize was claimed by Pat Kilgallon. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Brett who just held off the challenge of Geraldine Kilgallon, with Kathleen Minogue in third place. This weekend’s competition is sponsored by Mulroys, Castlebar, and the winner will also claim the Balla Cup.


Last weekend the club fundraising classic was held, the competition was sponsored by Ballina Beverages. More than 40 teams took part in the competition which was won by the team of Bill Kiely, Thomas Forde, Michael Forde, and Denis Forde with a score of 100pts. Second place went to Liam Casey, Darren Flaherty, James Devenney, and John Carden.


It was club competition weekend last weekend in Ballyhaunis, the ladies’ section was won by Kung Fanning with a score of 64. Lauren Freely claimed the cat 0 to 24 win with a score of 72, with Angela Grogan winning the cat 24-36 competition. The gents’ competition was won by Dave Hierons with a score of 63, Alex Eaton came second with a score of 64, and Brian Philips came home in third.


Breaffy GAA club will host an 18 hole scramble competition for teams of four on Saturday October 2 in Castlebar golf club. The cost of entry is €25 per head or €100 per team, tee off times between 11.30am and 1.30pm, first prize is an overnight stay in the Radisson Hotel in Sligo and a round of golf at Rosses Point Golf Club. For more information contact Albert Dravins on 094 9035425 or Seamus Tuohy on 086 1716252.


Last weekend’s competition was sponsored by AIB and in the men’s section Ian Brennan came home first with a score of 47pts. Donal Fitzmaurice was second with a score of 44pts, and third was Declan Judge also on 44pts. The ladies’ section was won by Carmel Connaughton with 41pts, Mary Lawlor finished in second place with 35pts.


Last weekend’s competition sponsored by Greens menswear and JT Sports was won by Michael Long with a score of 41pts, Joey McDonnell won the cat one prize finishing with 35pts, Owen Hannon took home the cat one trophy, with Padraic McHugh the cat three winner. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Patricia Prendergast who finished ahead of Kung Fanning in second place.


In last weekend’s competition David Martin was the big winner finishing off a score of 41pts, Alan McAdams came home in second place with a score of 37pts, with William McDonnell taking third place. This Sunday there will be a golfer of the year competition sponsored by Eddie Egan Jewellers, Castlebar. All players are asked to put their name on the sheet in the clubhouse or contact Mary on 086 1683894.


Next Sunday the lady golfer of the year title will be decided. Defending champion Maureen Keane has had an impressive second half to the season but she now trails Nuala Moody by four points, going into the Jack Dylan-sponsored end of season event. Moody had a massive round in the President’s Prize which leapfrogged her into first place and a similar round next Sunday will see her crowned as champion. However the final resting place for the title is wide open. If Moody or Keane fails to capitalise next Sunday, Bernie Bergin is waiting in the wings to grab victory from the jaws of defeat.

In the gents’ golfer of the year competition Joe Kelly put in another great performance securing a third place finish, which saw him break the 4,000 point barrier, with the final playoff competition taking place next weekend. Kelly is the first player to secure one of the five seeded positions for the top 30 final. Michael Lavelle, last Sunday’s winner, is currently second overall and looks certain to join Kelly in a top five place. However the story of the weekend is that defending champion Neil Chambers, continuing his fine recent form, is now in fourth place overall as it enters the final qualifying competition.


Page generated in 0.0878 seconds.