Athletics news

All roads lead to Balla

It is all systems go for the Balla 10k which takes place this Saturday 24 at 7pm.

It is open to all who want to run, jog or walk, entries from 5pm in the community centre. A goody bag will be given to participants. Full details on or contact Brendan on 087 294 1227.

Later on in the evening of the Balla 10k, Mayo AC is holding a fundraising race night in the Rendezvous Bar in Balla (just across the road from the finishing line ) starting at 9pm.

League leaders

As all the runners head for Balla for what is the third race in the C&C Cellular League the top three at this stage are all Mayo AC members. In the men’s event John Byrne leads on 49 points closely followed by TJ McHugh on 46, with the ever improving Andrew Lynskey on 40 points.

In the women’s event two wins in Carramore and Claremorris for Catherine Conway has ensured that she tops the table with a maximum 50 points, closely followed by Mary Gleeson on 48, while two fourth place finishes means that Derval Devanney is in third place on 44 points. The full updated league table will be on display on the evening of the Westaro/Balla 10k race.

Rob Malseed on track

Well done to Mayo AC member Robert Malseed who finished tenth in a very competitive 10,000 metres at the recent AAI National Track and Field Championships in Santry Stadium, in a time of 32.52.

Aughamore 5k

Well done to Mayo AC Member Hugh Duffy who won the recent Aughamore 5k run and walk, also well done to team mate Christy O’Malley who was third in the same event.

Mayo Fit4life 5k Summer Series ends in style

On Wednesday last, July 14, 160 walkers and runners took part in the final leg of the 5k Fit4life Series in Claremorris.

First male home was TJ Mc Hugh, followed by Daniel Murray and Paddy O’Toole all of Mayo AC. The first female home this week was again Colette Touhy Mayo AC with club mate Cathy Connolly in second position, and the young Rosie Hynes of Swinford AC came in a very strong third.

Some of the Fit4life runners who finished very strong were: Michael McNeela, Peter Duffy, Robbie Reynolds, Tony Heraghty, Michael Sheridan, John Timothy, Adrian Joyce, Damien Glackin, Edel Hacket, Joan Walsh, Lucy McNamara, Sinead Connolly, Tracey Durkan, Georgia McMillan, Michelle Heneghan, Ann McDonnell, Colette Whelan, Blaíthin O’Brien, Mary Murphy, Mary Walshe, Michelle Reynolds, Patricia Gallagher.

After the walk/run participants and friends retired to the Western Hotel for an indoor barbecue where the prizegiving took place. The Westport Women’s Fit4life team were awarded the first place position with Claremorris in second place and Ballinrobe and Castlebar very closely following on.

The men’s Fit4life individual prizes were won by Michael McNeela (Claremorris ), Peter Duffy( Westport ), Robbie Reynolds (Ballina ), Tony Heraghty (Westport ), Michael Sheridan (Claremorris ), John Timothy (Claremorris ) and Damien Glackin (Claremorris ).

Congratulations to all involved in making the series a fantastic success.


Page generated in 0.0960 seconds.