Mayo team for Sligo showdown announced

GAA: Connacht Senior Football Championship

James Horan has selected his starting 15 to be named in the programme for Saturday’s Connacht Senior Football Championship clash with Sligo.

Horan has had to deal with the loss of both Cillian and Diarmuid O’Connor and made four changes to the side who started against Clare in their last outing in the league semi-final two weeks ago.

Into the starting 15 come Michael Plunkett, Conor Loftus, Eoghan McLaughlin and Darren McHale.

Saturday will mark Kevin McLoughlin’s 150th appearance for Mayo in league and championship, becoming the third Mayo player to do so after Keith Higgins and Andy Moran.

The game will also be captain Aidan O’Shea’s 70th championship appearance and Lee Keegan’s 60th championship bow.

This will be the 59th meeting between Mayo and Sligo in the championship today with Mayo winning 45, Sligo eight and five games ending in a draw.


1.Rob Hennelly (Breaffy )

2.Enda Hession (Garrymore )

3.Oisin Mullin (Kilmaine )

4.Lee Keegan (Westport )

5.Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels )

6.Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber )

7.Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport )

8.Matthew Ruane (Breaffy )

9.Conor Loftus (Crossmolina )

10.Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore )

11.Darren McHale (Knockmore )

12.Bryan Walsh (Ballintubber )

13.Tommy Conroy (The Neale )

14.Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy )

15.Ryan O'Donoghue (Beal an Mhuirthead )


Page generated in 0.1027 seconds.