New season kicks off with new competition

Soccer: Mayo League

The new Mayo League season will kick off this Sunday, with a brand new competition getting the league up and running for 2021.

Kicking things off this weekend is the new TF Royal Hotel and Theatre u21 League, this new competition will aim to bridge the gap between those who are finishing up underage soccer in the county before they take the step up to the adult competitions with their clubs.

There are two divisions in the u21 League with seven teams in each division. Division One consists of Ballyheane, Castlebar Celtic, Claremorris, Conn Rangers, Glenhest Rovers, Kiltimagh/Knock United and Manulla. The first round of games on Sunday will see Glenhest Rovers host Claremorris, Castlebar Celtic travel to Manulla and Kiltimagh/Knock United welcome Conn Rangers - with Ballyheane being the odd team out this weekend and not having a game.

In Division Two, Conn Rangers have entered two more teams so they will have a B and C team in this division alongside B teams from Swinford and Claremorris, along with Ballinrobe Town (who have also made a welcome return to the Mayo League adult competitions this season ), Killala and Straide and Foxford United.

The first round of games in this division will see the all Conn Rangers derby, with their B team taking on the C team in Mount Falcon, Swinford will host Ballinrobe Town and Claremorris B host Straide and Foxford United, with Killala getting their season underway in the next round of games.

Draw made for Super and Premier Cups

The adult competitions in the Mayo League will get underway over the weekend of June 26 and 27 with the Calor Gas Super and Premier Cups. The draws for these competitions were made last weekend. In the Super Cup, Straide and Foxford United will host Manulla, Ballina Town will head south to take on Castlebar Celtic, Ballyglass welcome Kiltimagh/Knock United, Westport United make the journey to Station Rise to face Ballyhaunis Town, Swinford will welcome Snugboro United. The Ballina Town B team will be at home to Claremorris, while Glenhest travel to Ballyheane and finally Manulla B head to north Mayo to take on Iorras Aontaithe.

In the Premier Cup it is Crossmolina v Achill Rovers, Ballyvary Blue Bombers v Fahy Rovers B, Fahy Rovers v Moy Villa B, Moy Villa v Conn Rangers, Ballyglass B v Manulla C, Kiltimagh/Knock United B v Ballyheane B, Newport/Mulranny Wanderers v Killala, Claremorris C v Conn Rangers C, Crossmolina B v Westport United C, Hollister v Swinford B, Kilmore v Conn Rangers B, Claremorris B v Westport United B, Castlebar Celtic B v Ballinrobe Town - with Partry Athletic getting a bye to the next round.


Page generated in 0.0595 seconds.