Mayo election count - Sunday February 9

Live coverage of the general election count in Castlebar 

On the seventh and final count - Dara Calleary and Alan Dillon have been elected to fill the final two seats in Mayo alongside Michael Ring and Rose Conway-Walsh. 

Fine Gael's Michelle Mulherin eliminated on the sixth count and her votes will be distributed in the seventh count

Green Party candidate Saoirse McHugh eliminated on the fifth count in Castlebar - here 6,036 votes will be distributed now

Paul Lawless was eliminated on count four in Castlebar and his 3,375 votes will make up count five 

Once again nobody was elected on count three in Mayo from Rose Conway-Walsh's surplus 

Seven candidates were eliminated on this count. 

Nobody elected or eliminated on Michael Ring's surplus on to Rose Conway-Walsh's surplus. 

Ring and Conway Walsh go in on first count 

Sinn Fein surges in support in Mayo

The surge of support for Sinn Féin in Mayo has been the big talking point this morning in the count centre in Castlebar. Last summer - the party lost two of the three seats it held in Mayo County Council and saw it’s vote collapse, but they have rebounded spectacularly in this general election.

Rose Conway-Walsh according to the tallies took 14,387 votes (22.54 per cent ) to finish just behind Fine Gael’s Michael Ring who got 14,448 (22.7 per cent ) when the tallies was completed.

Both candidates surpassed the vote that then sitting Taoiseach Enda Kenny got in the 2016 general election - although it must be remembered that Mayo was a smaller constituency then with a large chunk of south Mayo moved into Galway West.

Conway Walsh saw her vote increase by 7,937 from the 2016 election to storm up the polls. Fianna Fáil deputy leader Dara Calleary finished in third place according to the tallies getting 9,608 number ones a drop of 334 from four years ago.

His running mate Lisa Chambers looks to locked in a three way battle for the final seat with Fine Gael duo Michelle Mulherin and Alan Dillon. Chambers led the way on the tallies with 6,352 number one votes, with Mulherin behind her on 5,346 and Dillon on 5,114.

The Green Party candidate Saoirse McHugh who entered the election on the back of a strong showing in the European Elections finished in seventh place according to the tallies with 4,047 - but with the Conway-Walsh expected to have a surplus in the region of 1,600 she could pick up a good number of those and still have a big say in where the final seat goes.

The voting closed last night at 10pm and the exit poll conducted by Ipsos MRBI for RTE, The Irish Times, TG4 and UCD  predicted that there was an almost statistical tie amongst Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin with all three parties getting around 22 per cent of the vote. 

Keep up to date with all thats going on on our social media channels on Twitter @MayoAdvert and on Facebook  

There are four seats up for grabs in Mayo - three sitting TDs Fine Gael’s Michael Ring and Fianna Fáil duo Dara Calleary and Lisa Chambers are looking to retain the seats the won four years ago in a 15 strong field of candidates.

With former Taoiseach Enda Kenny stepping aside from politics there will be at least one new face taking their place in the 33rd Dáil.

We’ll be with you throughout the count in the Royal Theatre in Castlebar bringing you all the news and tallies through the morning.

Fine Gael in Mayo are running a live tally which you can keep count on online:


Page generated in 0.1473 seconds.