Ballyhaunis ten miler coming up


Top of the tree at the Duathlon series: John Mullin (3rd), Aidan Kelly (1st) and Jonathan Rowland (2nd)

Top of the tree at the Duathlon series: John Mullin (3rd), Aidan Kelly (1st) and Jonathan Rowland (2nd)

The inaugural Run West Ballyhaunis 10 mile run takes place on Bank Holiday Monday June 3 at 11am, the event is hosted by the Ballyhaunis Meet and Train team led by Martin Fitzmaurice.

The ten miler is on an officially measured Athletics Ireland permitted one lap course. The start is on the Knock Road near the centre of town, and the race route heads out Doctor's Road (past the Rugby Club race HQ ) and then along rural roads circling back to the finish by the Rugby Club.

There will be chip timing. You can check out the route and other details at on the events calendar. The 10 miler is also a club league race for Mayo AC members. Entry is €20 online on or €25 on the day - register at the Rugby Club.

All are welcome to run, walk or jog. Refreshments, prizegiving, parking, changing and showers at the Rugby Club HQ on Doctor's Road. Prizes for first three men and women, plus first man o50 and o60, and woman o45 and o55. Medals for all finishers.

This is a non profit event and a donation will be made to Cancer Care West. See also or for more information contact Martin Fitzmaurice on (087 ) 2455989.

Big numbers turn out for Duathlon

Participation and inter club rivalry was the secret to The Bridge Signs Ireland West Duathlon series, with more than 700 walkers, runners and cyclist of all abilities taking part in one or more events throughout a three month period, with events held in six key towns in Mayo (Claremorris, Hollymount, Ballinrobe and Westport ), Sligo (Enniscrone ) and Galway (Belclare ) throughout the winter and spring months.

Aidan Kelly from Galway Triathlon club came under the radar to sneak off with the overall title of Bridge Signs Ireland West Duathlon Series champion 2019; missing out at the first round, Aidan was always to the fore from round two on. Strong bike splits meant Aidan usually caught the fast runners and could hold on well to finish high up the ranks by the finish.

In the Ladies, Edel Reilly, Hollymount Wheelers, proved strongest out of all the female competitors - her running was the key, even surprising some of the male competitors. She was ably motivated as her Hollymount Wheelers team were at every event in big numbers, securing their second win in the Team title race. *

Bridge Signs Overall Results

Men: 1st: Aidan Kelly (Galway Triathlon Club ); 2nd: Jonathon Rowland (Liquid Motion Triathlon Club ); 3rd: John Mullin (Headford ); 4th: Killian Dooley (Galway City Harriers ); 5th: Darren Quinn (Grainne Uaile Tri Club ).

Female: 1st: Edel O'Reilly (Hollymount Wheelers ); 2nd: Laura O'Connor (Islandeady CC ); 3rd: Maggie Vahey (Galway Tri Club ); 4th: Aoife O'Connor (Lough Key Tri Club ); 5th: Michelle Reynolds (Liquid Motion Tri Club ).

Over 40: Male - 1st: John Mullin (Headford ); 2nd: Killian Dooley (Galway City Harriers ); 3rd: Chris Troy (Grainne Uaile Tri Club ). Female - 1st: Maggie Vahey (Galway Tri Club ); 2nd: Ann McDonnell (Mayo AC ); 3rd: Niamh Donovan (Westport Leisure Park ).

Over 50: Male - 1st: Jimmy Lawlor (Multisport AM Westport ); 2nd: Sean O'Boyle (Liquid Motion Tri Club ); 3rd: Brian Clarke (Westport Leisure Park ), Female - 1st: Michelle Reynolds (Liquid Motion Tri Club ); 2nd: Breege Morrin (Western Lakes CC ), 3rd: Catherine Gibbons (Westport Leisure Park ).

Over 60: Male - 1st: Mattie Donnellan (Kilmaine )

U18: Joseph Walsh (Hollymount Wheelers Relay Team )

Mixed Relay Team: Ann and Paddy (Murray Mayo AC )

Most Improved: Male - David Keane (Grainne Uaile Tri Club ) Female - Sara Creighton (Swinford Tri club Team )

Club Winners: 1st: Hollymount Wheelers; 2nd: Liquid Motion Tri Club Ballina; 3rd: Westport Leisure Park.

Corporate Winners: 1st: Ballina Beverages Coke cola; 2nd: The HSE; 3rd: Allergan Westport.



Page generated in 0.0512 seconds.