Councillor payments hit almost €1m last year

Mayo County Council made payments of €979,734.11 last year in salaries, expenses and allowances to 31 councillors.

Mayo County Council has 30 members, but last year former Sinn Féin Cllr Thérese Ruane stepped down from her seat and was replaced by Cllr Joe McHale. Both members received payments last year, with Ruane receiving a gratuity payment of €16,997.41 along with an annual allowance of €991.03 and a representational payment of €4,310.72.

The largest payments went to the two councillors who held the position of Cathaoirleach during the year, with Independent Cllr Richard Finn receiving €54,501.19 and Fianna Fáil Cllr Blackie Gavin, who took up the position in June, receiving €39,453.09. Both councillors received an extra €15,000 allowance in these payments for holding the position of Cathaoirleach.

In total, €102,312.33 was paid between the councillors that held either the position of Cathaoirleach, Leas Cathaoirleach, chairperson of one of the council's Strategic Policy Committees during the year and Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach of one of four Municipal District's in the county.

The lowest payment (bar Cllr McHale who was co-opted on to the council during the year ) went to Independent Cllr Frank Durcan who received €23,525.15 with McHale receiving €19,569.28.

In regard to foreign travel, a total of €12,315.35 was paid to nine councillors for 21 foreign trips. Cllr Richard Finn, who was the Cathaoirleach for the first half of the year, was paid €3,028 for the seven trips overseas he made between July 2017 and May 2018.


Page generated in 0.1426 seconds.