Beautiful Boy - a run of the mill addiction story

Thu, Jan 17, 2019

THAT BEAUTIFUL Boy stars Timothee Chalamet means no one can accuse the title of false advertising. Chalamet plays Nic Sheff, a young boy who seems to have it all. He gets into every college he applies to, has a great relationship with his family, and seems kind and polite.

Read more ...

The Evil Within series - do you have the stamina to outrun Laura?

Mon, Jan 14, 2019

FOREWARNED IS forearmed as they say, and if you are about to enter nightmare worlds which are the creation of a violent sociopath, or a corrupt corporation, or possibly both, an 'It'll be alright on the night' attitude is not advised.

Read more ...

Advertisement

The Favourite - Olivia Colman on course for an Oscar?

Thu, Jan 10, 2019

SET IN 1708, Britain is at war and the monarchy has absolute rule. However the country is stuck with a childish, petulant, and depressed Queen who has no real interest in ruling.

Read more ...

Album review: You Tell Me

Thu, Jan 10, 2019

YOU TELL Me is Field Music’s Peter Brewis and Admiral Fallow's Sarah Hayes, and despite drawing on a diverse set of influences, the duo has created a cohesive, often beguiling debut as a duo.

Read more ...

The reality for asylum seekers in Ireland's direct provision centres

Thu, Jan 10, 2019

A MONTH or so before Christmas, a rather imposing volume landed on my desk. Bound in a strong blue cloth, the front cover declared the title to be Asylum Archive, the author to be Vukasin Nedeljkovic. The spine declared the publisher to be Asylum Archive.

Read more ...

Roma - the best film of the 2010s?

Thu, Jan 03, 2019

ONE OF my New Years resolutions is to rein in the hyperbole. The world today is in an awful state, so blindly claiming everything is either the worst or the best ever is not good for us. I’m as guilty as anyone, just last week I claimed to have had the best pint of Guinness in my life several times.

Read more ...

Susan Lindsay’s linguistic and other challenges

Thu, Jan 03, 2019

SUSAN LINDSAY'S gorgeously produced third collection of poems, Milling The Air, published by Doire Press, is a book which asks more questions than it answers. And this is no accident, but a deliberate strategy by Lindsay.

Read more ...

Theatre highlights of 2018

Thu, Dec 27, 2018

AND SO ends another year of theatre-going, a year of big shows, small shows, professional shows, amateur shows, local shows, and visiting shows. Rather than doing a general review of the year past, I shall focus on the shows I enjoyed most from those I saw.

Read more ...

Comedy Review: The Macnas Was On Me

Thu, Dec 20, 2018

PÁRAIC BREATHNACH'S latest seanachaí-cum-stand-up comedy show, The Macnas Was On Me, brings us from Connemara to Colombia, from the FCA to arts festival parades, and charts his colourful journey from a boyhood steeped in rural custom to his globe-trotting, genre-defying, times as an art and theatre maker.

Read more ...

Kilroy was here

Thu, Dec 20, 2018

THE FIRST chapter of Over The Backyard Wall - A Memory Book, Thomas Kilroy’s 'autobiography', is entitled 'The Eye of Memory' and opens thus: “I have been asked more than once to write a memoir and I’ve always had to say no. I couldn’t do it. I could scarcely remember what happened the previous week, never mind the distant past, at least with any degree of accuracy. Then in 2006, at the age of seventy-two, something odd happened to me - rather, something routine occurred - but it had an odd result. I had a cataract operation in both eyes.”

Read more ...

Album review: Neil Young

Thu, Dec 20, 2018

WHILE NEIL Young has long been one of the great champions of heavy and distorted guitar, often his finest performances have resulted from playing the acoustic form of that instrument.

Read more ...

Wreck It Ralph 2 - school holiday fodder

Thu, Dec 13, 2018

IN WRECK it Ralph 2, we catch up with Ralph and Vanellope, our heroes from the first movie, right where we left them, enjoying life as sentient 1980s video arcade game characters.

Read more ...

Man gives birth to alarm clock

Thu, Dec 13, 2018

GALWAY WRITER Brian Coughlan is a clever comedic writer in the Alan McMonagle/Karl MacDermott mode. His characters tend to be no good types, the sort who, in what the career guidance teachers of my youth called the real world, end up in middle management, or as unsuccessful Fianna Fáil county council candidates. Such characters populate Coughlan's short story collection, Wattle & Daub.

Read more ...

A lot wrong, and a lot right with Creed II

Thu, Dec 06, 2018

AFTER HIS defeat in Rocky 4, Ivan Drago was ostracised by Russia and abandoned by his allies, including his wife. He comes out from the wilderness with his son, Viktor, a young boxer who is so comically large he looks like he has been CGI’d.

Read more ...

Far Cry 4: lots and lots of fun

Tue, Dec 04, 2018

When it comes to games, I like to know that I will get my money's worth in terms of gameplay time before purchasing. There is nothing worse than when you part with your hard earned cash and the game is completed within four hours of hitting the start button. Far Cry 4 provides gamers with plenty of challenges and enjoyment – 52 hours worth in my case.

Read more ...

Assassin's Creed Origins - one man's fight in a changing world

Mon, Dec 03, 2018

YOU MAY have already set foot on the soil of ancient Greece, and with your sword and sandals, fight wars overt and covert, and on more than a few fronts. For those still catching up, a journey to the heart of Ptolemaic Egypt awaits.

Read more ...

The unhinged poetry of Ken Bruen

Thu, Nov 29, 2018

KEN BRUEN'S writing is like Charles Bukowski’s in that people tend to either love it, or be allergic to it. No one pretends to like Bruen’s writing in the way they do, say, the poetry of Ocean Vuong or Doireann Ní Gríofa because, to paraphrase WH Auden, they think it is the correct opinion to have for the time of year.

Read more ...

Wildlife - domestic unbliss in Montana

Thu, Nov 29, 2018

SET IN 1960s Montana, married couple Jerry and Janette and their son Joe have recently relocated. Though not said, it is implied they left their last home when Jerry lost his job, and it is not the first time this has happened.

Read more ...

Album review: boygenius

Thu, Nov 22, 2018

BOYGENIUS ARE made up of three of the most exciting indie-rock singer-songwriters to have emerged in the last five years - Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus.

Read more ...

Fantastic Beasts: The Grimes of Grindelwald

Thu, Nov 22, 2018

I WAS 11 when the first Harry Potter book came out, the same age Harry is in the story. I read those books - and only those books - repeatedly for a good 10 years (If I’m being honest 20 years).

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0863 seconds.