Us - Jordan Peele dives further into horror

Thu, Mar 28, 2019

IN 1986, Adelaide wanders away from her parents in a theme park, and into a seemingly abandoned house of mirrors. Inside there, she is confronted by her doppelgänger who spends the rest of her life stalking her in visions.

Read more ...

People of the Tribes: Meet Cayla.

Thu, Mar 28, 2019

Hi, my name is Cayla O’Neill Ruane, I was born in Galway 16 years ago and I have been living in the small village of Oughterard ever since. I have never been what someone would describe as ‘normal’, being an only child growing up, I always had to find ways to entertain myself without needing anyone around. I would read, create my own stories and act them out with my vast collection of dolls or make dances to show my mom when she got home from work. Living in Oughterard was difficult when I was younger, I didn’t have a lot of friends at school and there were very little activities for someone like me to participate in. Instead,I looked forward to the trip into Galway each weekend, as there was always so much to do and see in the city, even though it was through the confines of a Tesco shopping trolley.

Read more ...

Advertisement

Album review: Ye Vagabonds

Thu, Mar 21, 2019

THROUGHOUT THESE last couple of years, Ye Vagabonds have steadily built a following and a fair measure of respect, culminating in their nomination for a 2018 BBC Folk Award on the strength of their self-released debut album.

Read more ...

Under The Silver Lake - obnoxious and crass

Thu, Mar 21, 2019

UNDER THE Silver Lake has been billed as The Big Lewbowski mixed with Blue Velvet. It is directed by David Robert Mitchell, director of It Follows, my favourite film of 2014. It also boasts a quality cast and a really great trailer.

Read more ...

Album review: Stella Donnelly

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

THE SOUND, the look, is deceptive, disarming. The singer is all smiles and kookiness, the songs seemingly frothy, jubilant, catchy, 1980s style indie-pop. It's the sweetness that attracts.

Read more ...

Captain Marvel - the most fun you can have in a cinema

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

CAROL DANVERS - Captain Marvel's true identity - is not very well known to non-comic book readers, but, over the last decade, she has become one of Marvel comic’s best characters.

Read more ...

Trevor Conway and the poetry of fear

Thu, Mar 14, 2019

HAVING PUBLISHED his first collection with Salmon, Trevor Conway has taken the courageous decision to self-publish his second, Breeding Monsters, which, in every way, looks as good as the books currently emerging from any of the main Irish poetry publishers.

Read more ...

Album review: Maria Somerville

Thu, Mar 07, 2019

MARIA SOMERVILLE'S earliest songs were melancholy, atmospheric, meditations, based around the guitar. In the years since, her music has metamorphosed into electronica, but those qualities of mood and emotionally drenched sonics remain.

Read more ...

The Hole In The Ground - a mother and son horror

Thu, Mar 07, 2019

SINGLE MOTHER Sarah has moved to an old farm house in the Wicklow mountains. Her son Chris is unhappy in his new school and misses his father. She does her best, but the isolation is clearly getting to her.

Read more ...

Nicole Flattery and the essence of absurdity

Thu, Mar 07, 2019

THE FIRST paragraph in the first story of Nicole Flattery’s first collection, Show Them a Good Time, reads: “The schemes were for people with plenty of time, or people not totally unfamiliar with being treated like shit. I was intimate with both situations. Management interviewed me - bizarre questions through an inch of plexiglass: How long, in hours, have you been unemployed? Did you misspend your youth throwing stones at passing cars?"

Read more ...

Dark Souls III: A modern classic

Fri, Mar 01, 2019

Dark Souls III is the final game in the Dark Souls trilogy and what a bang to go out on. I personally have put many hundreds of hours into this game and it is no question why. This game is the end of the trilogy. It wraps up all of the best bits of all of the games and brings it together for a splendid ending for both the main game and DLC’s.

Read more ...

Far Cry 3: The game that made the series what it is today

Fri, Mar 01, 2019

Far Cry 3 is a game about a guy called Jason who abandons his friends, carves bullets out of his arm with a stick and gets superpowers from tattoos. My favourite part about that sentence was that it was mostly true. The only part that wasn’t mostly true was the superpowers stuff but it's close.

Read more ...

Melissa McCarthy shines in Can You Ever Forgive Me

Thu, Feb 28, 2019

LEE ISRAEL is a once famous biographer who is struggling to sell her new book, a biography of Fanny Brice. When bills pile up she looks for things to sell. She has several letters from different celebrities and authors, and she can get a decent price for them.

Read more ...

Album review: Julia Jacklin

Thu, Feb 21, 2019

LOOKS CAN be deceiving. Or can they? The cover of Jacklin's second solo album finds her surrounded by bric-a-brac, almost drowning in it, but with an ecstatic expression on her face.

Read more ...

Afro-American life in the seventies

Thu, Feb 21, 2019

BASED ON the James Baldwin novel, If Beale Street Could Talk is director Barry Jenkins follow up to 2017 Oscar winner Moonlight. It was surprising to see him adapting a book considering his screenplay for Moonlight was so well received, but after seeing this film I can see why he chose this text.

Read more ...

Wake gives voice to female voicelessness

Tue, Feb 19, 2019

HANS CHRISTIAN Andersen’s The Little Mermaid was first published in 1837 and since then it has inspired countless adaptations in print, film, TV and theatre. The latest is Deirdre Sullivan’s dark west of Ireland spin on the story, Wake.

Read more ...

Album review: Porkstore

Thu, Feb 14, 2019

PORKSTORE IS Barry Richardson - Galwegian, all around top bloke, and inspiration behind one of the greatest songs So Cow (aka Brian Kelly) has ever written. And Barry is not just the subject of a song, but a songwriter himself.

Read more ...

Alita: Battle Angel - all good looks and no substance

Thu, Feb 14, 2019

SET IN a post apocalyptic, dystopian, future - is there any other kind? - Dr Ido Dyson finds the head of a robot girl while out scavenging, and brings it home to fire it up.

Read more ...

Album review: Calva Louise

Thu, Feb 07, 2019

IT MAY be housed inside one of the most terrible album sleeves in living memory, but past the ghastly graphics lies a 30 minute treat of 10 fast and furious indie-pop/garage-rock songs.

Read more ...

E-paper

Read this weeks E-paper. Past editions also available from within this weeks digital copy.

 

Page generated in 0.0872 seconds.