Galway ladies blitz Mayo in U21 All Ireland final

A superb performance from Emma Reaney helped Galway romp to victory over Mayo in the Aisling McGing All-Ireland U21 ladies' football final.

Reaney produced 5-2 of her side's 10-15 total to ensure Galway were crowned champions for the first time over a Mayo side that could only muster 0-10.

Having lost previous finals in 2016 and 2013, Galway were not be stopped at St Croan’s GAA club in Roscommon. And with the return of their Kilkerrin/Clonberne players, Galway dispatched their opponents quickly and efficiently, led by full forward Reaney and corner forward Louise Ward.

Mayo started the game brightly with two Fiona Doherty frees, but Galway took control and never looked back. Olivia Divilly and player-of-the-match Shauna Hynes opened the Galwegians' account before Louise Ward struck the first goal on 13 minutes. Nicola Ward and Hynes added points before Reaney struck the first of her tally.

Three goals in three minutes

By half-time the game was over. Divilly and Hynes scored from distance before Galway hit three goals in three minutes - two coming from Reaney and another from Nicola Ward to make it 5-9 to 0-3 at the break.

Even with the wind in the second half, Mayo struggled despite the best efforts of senior player Fiona Doherty whose four points kept Mayo ticking over.

However, Galway continued to rack up the scores as the game progressed, and although Mayo had a couple of late goal chances, Dearbhla Gower was in fine form in the Galway goal, ensuring Stephen Glennon’s Galway lifted the silverware.

Scorers for Galway: E Reaney 5-2, L Ward 2-1, O Divilly 0-5 (0-3f ), N Ward 1-2, S Hynes 0-4, C Lynagh 1-0, E O'Kane 1-0, M Glynn 0-1.

Galway: D Gower; J Burke, E Gavin, M Joyce; S Molloy, K Dowd, O Murphy; S Hynes, C Crowe; O Divilly, M Kelly, M Glynn; N Ward, E Reaney, L Ward. Subs – S Gormally for Burke (30 ), A O'Regan for Kelly (HT ), C Lynagh for Divilly (50 ), E O'Kane for Reaney (50 ), D Keane for L Ward (57 )



Page generated in 0.1139 seconds.