Dolan sets the pace

Conor Dolan continues to set the pace in this year's Galway 5km Series.

Having won the opening day event at Ballybrit, clocking 16.33, Dolan once again reigned supreme in the second leg on a fast course in Caltra Racecourse on Tuesday last.

This time he clocked a season's best 16.15, ahead of Paddy O'Toole of Westport AC in 16.48 in second, and newcomer Kevin Bartholomew of Craughwell AC third with 17 flat.

Sarah Collins of GCH, an athlete who continues to improve with every outing, followed up her opening day win with another fast time of 18 minutes dead. Grainne Ni Uallachain and Siobhan Egan, both GCH, claiming the minor placings.

The series, which attracted a record 750 athletes on opening night, continues with the next two races in Craughwell and Athenry.

Colm Turner of Limerick AC won the annual Galway Sports Partnership 10k held on Sunday in Labane in swelteringly hot conditions on Sunday. Turner ran 34.57 for victory and finished ahead of Daire Comer of Tuam AC and Dariusz Monkiewicz. Mary Kealy of Athenry AC was the first woman home in 43 minutes, ahead of Deirdre Devane of Craughwell AC and Bernie Mulryan of Athenry AC in third.

Vancouver Marathon

Neasa Coll of GCH, who is now based in Canada, clocked another superb marathon time in the Vancouver marathon last Sunday, running two hours 46 minutes for fourth place overall.

Irish Milers club

Galway athletes turned out in force for the opening Irish Milers club event in Greystones. Alanna Lally won the 80 metres A Race in 2.09, and Aisling Joyce of NUIG ran a fast 4.33 in the women's 1500m. There were also numerous personal bests recorded by GCH athletes in a competitive series of races, including Aaron Brennan, who ran a 1500 PB with 4.09, as did Thomas McStay over 800, Aoife Sheehy over 400, and Nicole King with a season-opening 56.4 also over 400 metres. Michael Healy, Cillin Greene and Maebh Brannigan also impressed with their fastest times of the season, while Kathryn Casserly and Jim Phelan also recorded outdoor seasons bests over 1500 metres.


Page generated in 0.0846 seconds.