Bish contest today’s Connacht schools final

Galway’s St Joseph’s College, Galway, contest the FAI Schools Umbro Connacht Cup Senior Championship final today (Thursday ).

The Bish will meet Scoil Mhuire of Strokestown in the Connacht decider in Milebush, Castlebar at 2pm.

The Bish qualified for the final with two hard-fought away victories. They overcame Summerhill College, Sligo, 3-2 after extra time with Barry McCabe scoring the winner with just seconds remaining. A goal by Irish schools’ international Brian Gaffney saw them see off local rivals and defending champions St Mary’s College by 1 – 0 in the semi-final.

Pictured is the St Joseph’s College, Galway squad: Back row (l-r ) Robert Grealish (manager ), Ebeneezer Olajide, Daniel Keady, Barry McCabe, Paul Carty, Conor Winn, Gerard Hanley, Shane May, Rory O’Donohue, Cian Fadden, Barry McDermott (assistant manager ). Front Row (l-r ) Brian McNamara, Ronan Conlon, Gary Kelly, Michael Evans, Brian Gaffney, Ross Lynsky, Cian Hynes, Ian Lynsky, Tom Curran.


Page generated in 0.1160 seconds.