Galwegians forced to settle for a draw

Galwegians and play-off hopefuls Old Wesley played out a low-scoring but entertaining 7-7 draw in Glenina on Saturday.

Although Aidan Moynihan and Adam Griggs swapped second-half tries, Galwegians had opportunities in a dominant second half to take full points and ease their relegation woes.

All the early pressure came from the visitors, but they failed to gain any reward with two penalties. Outhalf Tim Clifford's 13th minute effort was wide, as was a second effort, and they butchered a promising attack through a handling error.

Wegians' defence stood up well, particularly up front where they may have lacked bulk and experience, and as the visitors remained scoreless with the wind, Galwegians' confidence rose.

The home side's backline, including Connacht's Ciaran Gaffney and Rory Parata, always looked to threaten, and although outhalf Morgan Codyre was off target with two penalty attempts, the home side became increasingly dominant.

Eventually some great footwork from fullback Aidan Moynihan was rewarded to open the home side's account, and Codyre added the touchline conversion to take a 7-0 lead.

The home side continued to dominant possession and were boosted with the return of Connacht's Darragh Leader, in his first match since a long-term wrist injury. However they lacked the clinical finishing to add to their score.

Instead, Wesley, who had survived long periods of pressure, regained the initiative. They came close to scoring on a couple of occasions before they capitalised with two penalties which they opted to scrum, and on the second replacement Griggs broke through beat to score the try. Outhalf, Adam Kennedy, one of four former Marist Athone and Buccaneers players for Wesley, converted, to level the game.

GALWEGIANS : Aidan Moynihan; Ciaran Gaffney, Rory Parata, Brian Murphy (capt ), Ed O'Keeffe; Morgan Codyre, Barry Lee; Jason East, John Moloney, Martin Fox, Anthony Ryan, Matt Towey, Paul Hackett, Josh Pim, Eoin Tarmey.Replacements: Doron McHugh, Patrick Curran, Ronan Moore, Conor Lowndes, Darragh Leader.


Page generated in 0.0757 seconds.