Craughwell youngsters claim Connacht title

Craughwell NS senior boys made history on Saturday when winning the Connacht Primary Schools Cross Country title for the first time at Sligo IT.

The boys were led home by an outstanding performance from Ross McGuinness with an eighth place finish followed in with an incredible run by Robert Urquhart, who placed 18th, just ahead of Eoin Byrne who had the race of his life to take 19th place. Next home was Evan Hallinan 27th, Luke Flynn 33rd, and Evan Moran 40th for the victorious squad

Individually there was great success for Galway runners, with Rory Fitzpatrick of Esker NS winning the Connacht senior boys race with a superb display, while GCH athlete Emma Moore of Lisheehkyle National School showed her class to win the Connacht senior girls title. Aoibheann Fitzpatrick of Creagh NS pipped Saoirse Coleman of Menlough NS to claim victory in a Galway one-two in the junior girls’ event

Day one of the Connacht Senior league took place on a tough and hilly course in Sligo racecourse on Saturday with Galway represented by Tuam AC, Castlegar AC and GCH, all fielding strong squads. Best of the Galway ladies was Jean O'Connor in sixth place, with GCH ladies’ foursome placing fourth team.

In the men’s race, Brian O'Connor of GCH had an excellent run, placing second behind Mayo AC stalwart Robert Malseed, despite a nasty tumble early on in the race. Sean Burke of Tuam AC was fifth and recent Ironman competitor, Rob Lennon of Castlegar, finished a solid eighth on his cross country debut. Tuam AC placed third team.

There was great success for Galway masters at the new national cross country course for the Autumn Open and Masters trials in Dublin. Galway sisters Christine Kennedy and Phyllis Brown qualified for the Irish Masters ladies' team, and GCH athletes Martin Kearney and Martin McEvilly qualified n the men’s trial race/

Galway cross country runner Laura Shaughnessy had a super run in the senior ladies’ race to place fifth overall, and is well in with a shot at an Irish cross country team place if she continues her good run of form.

At home Matt Bidwell of GCH and Jane Ann Meehan of Athenry AC claimed the honours in the Moylough 10k held on Sunday. Bidwell clocked 35.31 for his second win of the day, having raced an 8k earlier, to beat Sean Burke into second by a narrow margin, while Healy took the ladies; win in 37.24


Page generated in 0.0739 seconds.