Irish Comedian Of The Year @ Róisín Dubh Comedy Clubh

Dominick Street venue to host second heat of competition

Steve Bennett. He won last week's heat. Who will win tomorrow's?

Steve Bennett. He won last week's heat. Who will win tomorrow's?

SCOTLAND, ENGLAND, and Wales have one, but Ireland, despite regularly producing world-class comedians, has never had an Irish Comedian of The Year Competition - not until now that is.

Tomorrow night the Roisin Dubh Comedy Clubh hosts the last heat of the Irish Comedian of The Year, compered by Andrew Stanley, who has also compered the heats in Dublin, Belfast, Galway, Cork, and London. The winner will be chosen by the judges but the audience gets to send two of their favourites forward to the semi-final. Entrants include Sean O'Boyle, Anthony Riordan, David Sheenan, Jake Bourke, StevenevetS, Breda Larkin, and Cornelius O’Sullivan.

Last week's Galway heat was won by regular Comedy Clubh host, Steve Bennett. More than 200 comedians entered and are being whittled down to 10 finalists, one of whom will win a prize of €2,000 and gigs at a number of leading Australian comedy festivals. The Grand Final takes place during the Vodafone Comedy Carnival Galway, in the Town Hall Theatre on Thursday October 27.

Admission is €8 in advance, €10 on the door. See



Page generated in 0.1050 seconds.