Galway set up another meeting with Kilkenny

Galway hurlers will once again face Kilkenny when the two meet in the Leinster hurling final on Sunday week (July 3 ) in Croke Park.

Galway saw off Offaly by 2-19 to 2-9 in O'Moore Park, Portlaoise, on Sunday, having been behind at the break by a point.

Offaly had to play most of the tie with 14 men after their captain Colin Egan was sent off for a dangerous challenge on Fergal Moore, while Galway also had Conor Cooney sent off late in the game and Galway officials are awaiting the referee's report before they decide on appealing Cooney's dismissal.

Team captain David Burke was also fortunate not to get his walking papers after a rash head-high challenge for which he received a yellow card.

The conditions were horrible for a game of hurling and Offaly had the wind at their backs as they raced into a 1-2 to no score lead in the first five minutes. They subsequently led by 1-7 to 1-6 at the small whistle - the goals from Joe Bergin in the first minute for Offaly, and a Niall Burke goal in the 13th minute for Galway.

However Galway took control in the second half. An early Conor Cooney goal after poor defensive play by Offaly gave Galway the momentum to go on and stake a claim in the Leinster final with a 10- point win.

In that Leinster final they will face their old Nemesis Kilkenny who beat them in last year's All-Ireland final. And no doubt the panel will know they will need to improve their performances if they are to regain the Leinster title they last won in 2012. On that occasion they beat Kilkenny by 2-21 to 2-11.

Galway: Colm Callanan, Johnny Coen, John Hanbury, Fergal Moore, Padraig Mannion 0-2, Daithí Burke, Aidan Harte, Davey Glennon, David Burke (Cpt ) 0-2 , Niall Burke 1-0, Joseph Cooney 0-2, Joe Canning 0-8 (6f, 1 ’65 ), Conor Whelan 0-1, Cathal Mannion, Conor Cooney 1-3. Subs used: C Donnellan (0-1 ), Jason Flynn, Andy Smith.


Page generated in 0.2676 seconds.