Lam, Aki and Muldoon lead Connacht awards winners

Connacht received deserved recognition for their exceptional season with three major winners at the Guinness Pro 12 awards.

Pat Lam was named coach of the year, Bundee Aki, the players; player of the year, and John Muldoon scooped the chairman's award.

In addition seven Connacht players made the Pro 12 Dream Team, including an all-Connacht front row - Matt Healy (14 ), Aki (12 ), Kieran Marmion (9 ), Denis Buckley (1 ), Tom McCartney (2 ), Finlay Bealham (3 ), Ultan Dillane (5 ).

The awards came after Aki won three Connacht Rugby awards, Players' Player of the Year, Back of the Year, and the Fans' Player of the Year.

Connacht award winners: U18 Player of the year, David Robb; U19 Player of the year, Cillian Gallagher; U20 Player of the year, Conan O'Donnell; Women's club player of the year, Elizabeth McKeever, NUIG RFC; Women's player of the year, Laura Feely; Coach of the year, Steve Parkinson, Colaiste Iognaid; Club of the year, Westport RFC; Referee of the year, Jason Cairns; Outsanding contribution to rugby, John Davey, Sligo RFC and Cian de Buitlear, An Ghaeltacht RFC; Junior club player of the year, Kevin Corcoran, Westport RFC; Senior club player of the year, Rory O'Connor, Buccaneers RFC; Academy player of the year, Sean O'Brien; Forward of the year, John Muldoon; Back of the year, Bundee Aki; Try of the year, Caolin Blade, Ulster v Connacht; Team man of the year, Ronan Loughney; Fans' player of the year, Bundee Aki; Players' player of the year, Bundee Aki.



Page generated in 0.0814 seconds.