Connacht claim squash interpo crown

Connacht have been crowned senior men's interprovincial squash winners for the second time in the history of the annual championship.

Represented by Brian Byrne (Claremorris ), David Noone (Galway ), Keith Moran (Sligo ), Rory Gilligan (Galway ), Kevin Davey (Sligo ) and super sub Niall Brennan (Galway ), Connacht came through their toughest test at the start when they prevailed by 3-2 over a Leinster team with a strong mix of talented youth and experience.

Connacht had to recover from a poor start, having quickly found themselves trailing 2-0 in matches, substitute Niall Brennan and Kevin Davey both beaten by strong opponents. This left the trio of Byrne, Moon and Noone needing to win. Byrne, Ireland's no 2 player, ran off a routine 3-0 win, while Moran proved too strong for one of Ireland's and Europe's finest junior players, Conor Moran, prevailing by 3-1.

Down to the last match, David Noone was up against Luke Logan and got off to a bad start, falling behind 2-0. However a big push from the Galway player and at 2-2 in games, 9-9 in points it was anyone's match. David dug deep and his experience proved vital, securing a 3-2 win.

At full strength with Rory Gilligan at no 4, they overcame Munster 5-0 and then a formidable Ulster team by 4-1.



Page generated in 0.1189 seconds.