Claregalway crush opponents to win Connacht crown

Claregalway minor ladies have been crowned Connacht champions after a comprehensive 8-13 to 0-7 over Leitrim’s St Brigit’s.

The Galway champs, who led from the start to finish, struck for the first of their eight-goal blitz within 20 seconds, and by  half time they were out of sight, leading by 3-8 to 0-3.

Megan Glynn, in command at midfield, won the throw-in, to set up Ciara Burke for the superb opening goal. It set the tone for Claregalway’s intent, and they had posted 1-4 before the Leitrim champs registered their first point.

Claregalway were relentless both in attack and defence, ensuring St Brigit’s were restricted to just three at the break. And the introduction of Claregalway’s subs did not alter the game’s pace as they completed the rout with another five goals.

It was a fitting reward for Claregalway’s season, which included 20 goals and 60 points over the four games in the Connacht Championship.

Captain Megan Glynn was awarded player of the game on all four occasions.

The Connacht Minor Ladies Football Champions 2015: Gwen Horkan, Aiofe Philips, Karen Dowd, Ava Fitzmaurice, Orla Murphy, Ellie Glynn, Andrea Glynn, Megan Glynn, Grace Cahill, Catriona Moran, Emma Connolly, Aisling Murphy, Ciara Campbell, Ciara Burke, Stephanie O’Connell, Rebecca Downes, Shauna Flaherty, Laura King, Megan Shaughnessy, Orla O’Gorman, Aiofe Gavin, Andrea Trill, Sarah Coady, Emma Coakley, Clodagh Murphy, Maeve Moran, Hannah Coady, Izzy Moran, Sinead Donovan. Manager, Gerry Moran;  selectors, Darragh Leonard, Jimmy Gavin, Pat Coen, Elaine Goldrick.


Page generated in 0.0966 seconds.