Mullins and Meehan take gold in county half marathon

Top three in the Galway 5000m championship were Peter O 'Sullivan (runner-up,, Peadar Harvey (third), and winner Damien O Boyle, all Craughwell AC.

Top three in the Galway 5000m championship were Peter O 'Sullivan (runner-up,, Peadar Harvey (third), and winner Damien O Boyle, all Craughwell AC.

Ollie Mullins of Craughwell AC has taken top honours in this year's County Galway AAI Championship half marathon.

Mullins claimed the outright victory in 81 minutes in the Monivea half marathon, which doubled as the official county championship, and was followed in second place by Adam Leadbetter of Athenry and Kevin Ward of Longford in third, with Gearoid Rohan of Athenry AC taking the county bronze.

Jane Ann Meehan of Athenry AC claimed the women's win in 1.23.13 to also win the county crown, followed home by Roisin Farragher and Claire Rowe. 

Mark Walsh claimed another local road race win, clocking 17.56 to win the 5km event, while Tammie Corrigan won the ladies' event.

Ollie Mullins was also in action in the 2015 Galway Track and Field Championships which took place over two days at the Dangan track.

However this time he was pipped by Peter O'Sullivan in the men's 10,000m. O'Sullivan, who claimed the longest race on the programme in a time of 35.42, was also the winner of the 1500m event. In an exciting race, he came from behind to take the win from the front-running Jason Broderick, clocking 4.13 for victory.

Helen Corbett of GCH won the county women's 10,000m.

In day one's distance races Dearbhaile Walshe of Craughwell won the  3000m, while Majella Ni Chriochain won the masters. Damien O'Boyle of Craughwell took the honours in a high quality 5000m in a time of 15.40. Next home in the 5k was Peter O Sullivan in 16.22, with Peadar Harvey, also Craughwell, third in 16.40, and Ollie Mullins  the masters champion.

Aubree Piepmeier of GCH produced a great run to take the Galway women’s 5000m crown in 17.32.

In the field events Brendan Staunton of GCH took both shot and javelin titles, while Mary Barrett of Loughrea won both in the ladies.

Sarah Finnegan of Craughwell and Bob Bailey of Loughrea won the triple jump contests 

In the sprint and middle distance track races on day two,  Conor Duggan of Craughwell won both 100m and 200m, in times of 11.05, and 22.85, into a strong headwind. Sinead Treacy of Craughwell AC took gold in both women's sprints.

GCH's Evan McGuire opened his season with a good 50.72 to win the men’s  400m, while junior athlete Sarah McDonnell of GCH won the women's event. 

There was a good battle in the men’s 800m with Peadar Harvey producing a storming finish to pip Conor O'Rourke of GCH, while Dearbhaile Walshe of Craughwell was first in the women's 800m.

In the field, Brendan Staunton of GCH came up trumps again, winning senior discus, hammer and 56lb weight, while Tommy Farragher won the masters events.  Guest athlete Laura Dolan threw a huge 38.77 m in the women's event, with Peggy Higgins taking county gold. Mary Barrett claimed the discus title.

National champion Cathriona Farrell of Craughwell AC produced an exhibition of high jumping to claim gold, clearing a season's best of 1.75m, while Brendan Lynch of Loughrea took victory in the men’s event.

Aidan Conneely produced a 6.07m jump to win the long jump, with Sinead Treacy taking a third gold in the women's event.

U9-11 national team competition 

Galway juvenile athletes were on the podium at the All Ireland track and field pairs and relays finals in Tullamore recently. 

There was a gold medal performance from Stephen and David Mannion of South Galway AC in the 600m, and the same pair won silver in the 60m. Orlaith Mannion and Sinead Mongan, also of SGAC, took bronze in the 300m, while GCH's Richard McGrath and Ronan Duggan won silver medals, finishing just two hundreths of a second off the winners in the 60m, McGrath recording the fastest 60m of the day.

Craughwell's Evan Moran and Eddie Silke took silver in the U10 500m, as did clubmates Darragh Kelly and Stephen Jennings in the U9 long jump. Conor Gilligan and Evan Moran, and Chloe Hallinan and Siobhan Carr won bronze in the U10 long jumps . 

In the relays Craughwell AC's u-10 team took bronze.

PB for Fallon

GCH athlete Keith Fallon ran another 1500m personal best at the weekend, clocking 3.49.19 in the BMC Grand Prix event in Watford, England, on Saturday.


Page generated in 0.1333 seconds.