Will three be a lucky number for Sinn Féin in June?

Sinn Féin will be running three candidates in East Galway for June’s Local Elections and will be hoping that the results will see Cllr Dermot Connolly joined by more colleagues in County Buildings.

Galway East Sinn Féin will hold its local election convention tonight in Gullanes Hotel, Ballinasloe. The convention will select candidates for the Tuam, Loughrea, and Ballinasloe Galway County Council electoral areas as well as candidates to contest the Ballinasloe Urban District election and the Tuam and Loughrea town council elections.

The proposed nomination list for the 2009 Local Elections is Cllr Dermot Connolly (Ballinasloe county council ward ), Cllr Jason Devlin (Ballinasloe Urban District Council ), Grainne Morahan (Tuam county council ward and Tuam Town Council ), and Eoghan MacCormaic (Loughrea county council ward and Loughrea Town Council ).

The main speaker on the night will be Cllr Pádraig MacLochlainn, Sinn Féin’s EU North-West candidate for the EU Elections.

“We will be vigorously contesting all elections in the constituency for 2009,” said party spokesperson Joe Desmond. “Our two sitting councillors, Jason Devlin and Dermot Connolly, have proven that Sinn Féin has the credibility, work-rate, and record of performance that is required to deliver the much needed change in local politics.”



Page generated in 0.1670 seconds.