Meehan breaks the magic barrier

Galway’s Jane Ann Meehan of Athenry AC produced a superb marathon performance in the Manchester Marathon on Sunday.

The Athenry AC athlete clocked a time of 2hrs 54 minutes, which was a first for her under the magic three hour barrier, and placed her sixth female overall.

Meehan has been one of Galway’s top athletes for much of the last decade and this result is a testament to her hard work and high mileage. Clubmate Gearoid Rohan finished in the same time of 2.54, while there were also good runs and personal best times from Athenry’s Roseanne Trehy 3.13 and Chris Deakin 3.12, and Brendan Kennelly of GCH, who came home in 3.22.

At home Galway City Harriers and Craughwell AC fielded teams at the National Road relays in Raheny in Dublin on Sunday.

The Craughwell masters men’s team finished a fine sixth in the over 35s, led by Oliver Mullins, evergreen Gerry Ryan, and Peter O’Sullivan.

In the competitive four leg senior men’s event, Craughwell placed 15th with a strong three mile leg by Jason Broderick, and good runs from Neil Greaney, Peadar Harvey and Damien O Boyle. GCH were 20th, led by Keith Fallon and supported by Joe Tannian, Niall McCarra and John Moroney.

Galway Sports Partnership 10k

Matt Bidwell of GCH took yet another local road race victory, this time at the fourth Annual Galway Sports Partnership 10k held in Labane, Ardrahan, on Saturday, Bidwell took an easy win in 33.22, well clear of John Whiriskey, second in 37 minutes, and Shane O’Rourke, third in 37.04. Grainne Ni Uallachain of Galway City Harriers was the first woman in 39.48, with Veronica Colleran second in 40 minutes flat, and Deirdre Brophy third.

Claregalway 5km

Brian Heavey won the Claregalway 5km hosted by Clare River Harriers AC. Heavey won in 18.12, just ahead of Kevin Carr second in 18.16 and Alasdair Conway third. First woman home was Fiona Duggan of Castlegar AC in 22.47.

Galway City Harriers continued their run of good form in the Ballinrobe 10k with the women’s victory going to Regina Casey in a personal best time of 36.50. Siobhan Egan also ran very well to take second with a time of 39.08, while the ever improving Niamh Hennelly clocked 40.56 for fifth spot.


Page generated in 0.3280 seconds.