Fallon in fine fettle for Ireland

Jamie Fallon of Craughwell AC continues to make a name for himself, coming in second at the Celtic International Cross Country.

Competing on the u-20 Irish team at this annual fixture held this year in Meath, Fallon was the second finisher in the Irish team, which also took second place overall behind Scotland, and ahead of Wales and Ulster.

In Athlone the Galway Indoor Track and Field Championships took place with nearly 700 athletes in action.

At senior level, there were multiple medals for up-and-coming stars Evan Quirke, Athenry AC, and Sinead Treacy of Craughwell AC. The infield action saw 60m sprint wins for Conor Duggan and Sinead Treacy, both of Craughwell AC, while Athenry’s Evan Quirke and Loughrea AC’s Mary Barrett took the 60m hurdles titles.

Brendan Staunton of GCH won the county shot putt, with Mary Barrett claiming the women’s event. Also in the field, Caitriona Farrell won the women’s long jump, while the men’s title was won by Aidan Conneely of Craughwell AC.

An exciting and close men’s 3000m was won outright by guest athlete Stephen Campbell, who just held off the county title winner Eoin Lyons of GCH. Kathryn Casserly of Castlegar AC made a welcome return to action taking a comfortable win in the ladies’ 3000m.

At 200m Sinead Treacy took another gold and Galway title in the women’s event in 25.67, with Cillian Greene pipping Conor Duggan by just 0.02 of a second to take the men’s title.

Sinead Gaffney of Craughwell AC won the 800 metres, just ahead of Niamh Hennelly of GCH.

At juvenile level standout performances came from GCH relay squads who took seven relay wins including a superb 4X100m win at u-13 level. Craughwell took four relay wins, with Ballinasloe claiming two titles, and South Galway AC one.

The full list of winners below is available on www.galwayathletics.com

Tuam 8k

On the road Gary Thornton of GCH made a triumphant return at the Tuam Athletic Club’s annual 8km road race on January 18. Thornton ran away from the field early on to take victory in a superb time of 24.34. Matt Bidwell, also of GCH, was second in 25.53, with Adrian Smith in third in 27.37.

The women’s race was a tighter affair with Regina Casey of GCH and Jane Ann Healy of Athenry running neck and neck until the latter stages, when the experienced Casey pulled away to give herself a 12-second gap at the end, taking the win in 29.35 to Healy's time of 29.47. Ian Egan of Tuam AC took the coveted fastest local man’s prize with a 29.07 clocking.


The Coldwood four mile road race, now in its third year, takes place on Sunday at 12 noon. Race entry is available at €15 on active.com, and the race is a fundraiser for the local national school.


Page generated in 0.1134 seconds.