Galway teams for National Cross Country

Galway is sending strong contingents across all categories to the first of the 2014 National Cross Country events this Sunday at Dundalk IT.

At senior level, Galway men’s team will travel with hopes of a high team placing. Individually, Gary Thornton and Keith Fallon of GCH, are Galway’s best prospects, with Thornton tipped for a top 10 finish, while Fallon, competing in the u-23 category, is expected to be in contention for a high placing.

Other strong team members include Brian Furey of Tuam, now with Rathfarnham, Fintan Hyland, John Cronin and Brian O’Connor, all of GCH, and Craughwell’s Ollie Mullins and Rob Hogan. Craughwell junior men Neil Greaney and Paul Joyce will also feature well in the junior event.

East Galway AC four mile

A strong field of more than 100 runners toed the line for the fourth East Galway AC four mile race in Abbeyknockmoy on Sunday.

Over a testing course, Mick Fogarty from Athlone Tri-Club led from start to finish, posting a respectable time of 21:31. He was followed home by Rob Hogan 22:09 and Damien Larkin 22:30, both from Craughwell AC. Tuam AC won the male team prize.

In the women's category, Jane Ann Meehan from Athenry AC took the main prize with a fine time of 23:25, and took fourth place overall. She was followed home by US visitor Heather Butcher from North Point, Florida, in a time of 25:01. Mairead Sullivan from Athenry AC was third in 27:46. Athenry AC won the ladies team cup.

Other prize winners were Gearoid Rohan from Athenry, who won the O40 M Category, Ryszard Kobaljko won the M50, while stalwart runner Andy Talbot of Clare River Harriers won the M60 Category,

Women category winners were Deirdre King, East Galway AC, W40, and Bernie Kelly, GCH, won the W50 category.


Page generated in 0.2087 seconds.