Mountbellew/Moylough win first minor title since 1968

Mountbellew/Moylough were too good for Salthill/Knocknacarra in the county minor final played on Sunday at Tuam Stadium. The black and amber men cruised home by 1-9 to 0-6.

The winners had star players in team captain Michael Daly, his brother John, full-forward Eoin Finnerty, Colm Mannion, Colin Ryan, and goal-keeper Michael Foley. Substitute Patrick Keaveney scored their goal.

Salthill missed a few chances and ended with a tally of 11 wides, but there was no doubt that Mountbellew was the better and more balanced side.

Gerry Hughes’ lads had good displays from William Finnerty at centre-back, Eamonn Conroy at midfield, and full back Peter Killeen also caught the eye.

The Mountbellew/Moylough management team was made up of Mattie Giblin, Val Daly, James Foran and Martin Boyle and it was good to see the county minor A trophy going to the club for the first time since 1968.


Page generated in 0.2189 seconds.