Corinthians off the mark

Corinthians head to Limerick on Saturday to face Garryowen at Dooradoyle Park (2.30pm ) in their third Ulster Bank League fixture.

Having opened their home account in division 1B with a deserved 29- 24 win over Malone on Saturday, Corinthians will head to Limerick with greater confidence.

They will need to show the same resolve that saw them overcome a poor start against Malone to grab their first win of the new league season.

Malone had the home side on the back foot from the kick off and were rewarded when centre Josh Pentland converted two penalties after Corinthians lost veteran hooker Joey Merrigan with a yellow card for offside.

And it did not get any better for Corinthians when right winger Michael Barker rambled in for a touchdown to stretch their lead in the 20th minute.

However, propelled by the pack, Corinthians finally came to life, and from a quick Mick Murphy break, flanker James Connolly skated in for an excellent touchdown with outhalf Miah Nikora adding the extras.

The Tuam Road outfit upped their game again and within five minutes grabbed their second try. Once again Mick Murphy made the break for captain James Buckley to finish, side-stepping his opposite number to touch down out wide wth Nikora again converting. Within minutes the home side had crossed the whitewash again. Flanker Donnchadh Phelan instigated the attack and with Charlie Ryan and Darin Classen involved, Buckley finished in the corner to lead by 19-14 at the break.

Man of the match No 8 Eoghan Masterson was denied after the restart from claiming the fourth try for a double movement, but 10 minutes later he broke from the base of the scrum to drive through the cover.

The dominance continued when replacement prop Jamie Dever claimed the fifth touch down from a maul, but as the visitors lost their hooker and the referee allowed uncontested scrums, the Belfast outfit gained some impetus and were rewarded with a try by flanker John Burns, which Pentland converted. Pentland added a penalty at the death, but Corinthians hung on for a deserved victory.

Corinthians: D Classen, P Maher, J Buckley (capt ), C Ryan, O Daly, M Nikora, M Murphy, M Byrne, J Merrigan, F Bealham, G Warde, C Rafferty, D Phelan, J Connolly, E Masterson. Replacements, A Bane, J Dever, A Broderick, C Evans, C Dillane.


Page generated in 0.1800 seconds.